Thanee said:
I think the skill points issue with Int boosting items mostly has a clarifying nature, since it seemed to cause a lot of trouble how and when to apply that bonus to the skill points (not that I had any trouble with it, just in general).
Bye
Thanee
Of course, making the item not grant it doesnt make this problem go away at all. All it does is make the item effectively worthless for any nonprimary casters and get rid of a source that people could look to for immediate help in the other cases.
Ahh well though ;/
glass said:
There are several feats in the ELH (3.0 I know, but I have seen nothing to make think things have changed) with ability prereqs well into the 20s.
I know there are feats in the epic level handbook, but the reference I was confused about seemed to come out of no where

Along with that, references from the elh arent helpful for a base game. People will argue with rules from other sources (even when they talk about it directly).
But like I had said, I was tired, I should've just said something like the above instead of assuming I was missing some other reference.
robberbaron said:
I wouldn't allow it, unless I found a passage in the PHB/DMG that stated you could use items to give you pre-requisites for Feats. There may be one, but I haven't found it yet.
SRD:
Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat. A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he or she gains the prerequisite.
A character can’t use a feat if he or she has lost a prerequisite.
There you are, if you have the prereq then you can gain the feat. It doesnt say how long you must have it, under what conditions, if it has to be a permanant condition or not, or anything like that.
simply that if you have the prereq then you can gain it.
Unless there is something that says you 'cant' do it with items that directly give you an ability/attribute then it would seem that you can. No reason to assume otherwise.