Using Implements With Magic Item Powers...


log in or register to remove this ad


I think the first question that should have been asked is: If a wizard has an item that allows him to cast magic missle, can he use a different item as the implement to channel it?

If the answer is yes, then perhaps, through some combination of multiclassing and specific items that let priest use implements for arcane spells our cleric might have a chance,

But If the wizard can't do it, our cleric is a moot point.

I'm not convinced a wizard could channel a magic missle from some item into his staff +4, it seems to me that if you use an implement (any wand for example) with a implement power, you'd need to use that implement to cast it. You can't use a staff +4 to use your wand of burning hands +1's daily or you masters wand of maggic missle +1. At least, that seems to me to be the way it should be.

Now say the wizard has some shoes that cast magic missle, can he channel that through his +4 staff? I have no idea. My gut says no.
 

I think the first question that should have been asked is: If a wizard has an item that allows him to cast magic missle, can he use a different item as the implement to channel it?

Yes, he can, from what I understand, because Magic Missile is a Wizard power, irregardless of the Implement you use to enhance it.

So, for example, a Wizard could wield a +1 Wand of Magic Missile in one hand, and a +3 Orb in the other hand. he could activate the Wand's power to cast a Magic Missile, but use the Orb's bonus to hit and damage.

Thus far, I've found nothing that specifically says you can't do it, but also nothing that specifically says you can. I'll take another closer look, just in case.

If the answer is yes, then perhaps, through some combination of multiclassing and specific items that let priest use implements for arcane spells our cleric might have a chance,

That's true, but it really has nothing to do with example you present above.

To use Wizards as an example:

Implements
Wizards make use of orbs, staffs, and wands to help channel and direct their arcane powers. Every wizard has mastery of one type of implement (see “Class Features”). Without an implement, a wizard can still use his or her powers. A wizard wielding a magic orb, staff, or wand can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of wizard powers, as well as wizard paragon path powers, that have the implement keyword.

It doesn't specify where the wizard powers must come from... only that they must be wizard powers, and not powers from another class.

What's more the magic item section states:

In general, magic item powers follow the same rules as other powers (in that they have ranges, shapes, and so forth).

In the absence of any other evidence, it would lead me to believe you can "dual wield" two different implements at the same time -- one to activate a power or property and another to use its attack and damage enhancement on the activated power.

Likewise, a (Paragon-level) Wizard with a Staff of Fiery Might and a Wand of Fiery Bolt could activate the Wand to shoot a Fiery Bolt and then activate the Staff to reroll some of the Fiery Bolt's damage... All the while using the better enhancement bonus of the two.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top