Using Portals : Touch or Step Through?

Ninja-to

First Post
I seem to remember reading that in order for a creature to use a portal, they merely needed to touch it. Can anyone remember where this is written in the books? Or am I mistaken and it's not the case?

The question will come up when characters see a portal and try to poke through to see what happens. I'm fairly sure that doing so will send them to the other side. I just need to clarify the RAW.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't believe I've heard anything of the sort relating to "touch." There's probably specific portals that work "when you move into their square" or "anyone in their square can use a move action to end up in the other portal's square." Which would imply touch or stepping through.

Edit: Checked the compendium. From Linked Portal ritual
With a step, you can move from one circle to the other.
 
Last edited:


MotP has rules for permanent portals that describe various ways those can work. Its more or less up to the DM what the details are though they do provide a general description. Usually you step through them but not always.
 

Remove ads

Top