Vampire Gaseous form

Lichemaster

Explorer
The vampire the group fought against was running away in gaseous form they used a daylight spell to destroy it.
Would the 2 magic items it had on it drop to the ground or be destroyed also?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Lichemaster said:
The vampire the group fought against was running away in gaseous form they used a daylight spell to destroy it.
This is, presumably, a house rule. By the rules, a vampire would not even be affected by the Daylight spell.


SRD said:
Daylight
.......Despite its name, this spell is not the equivalent of daylight for the purposes of creatures that are damaged or destroyed by bright light.
 

As for the actual question you asked ( :) ), it's not clear. The gaseous form power is a supernatural one, and it has an indefinite duration.

SRD said:
Gaseous Form (Su): As a standard action, a vampire can assume gaseous form at will as the spell (caster level 5th), but it can remain gaseous indefinitely ....

The ability does not require concentration, nor would it be dispelled by Dispel Magic. Once the vampire is destroyed........hmmmm......I suppose we could follow the shapechanger example.....
 

Destroying a vampire (by a valid means, not by the daylight spell) does not destroy its items. Even a disintegrate or destruction spell on a PC would not affect that PC's items.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Destroying a vampire (by a valid means, not by the daylight spell) does not destroy its items.
Agreed.

The interesting part of the OP's question is "when does the gaseous form go away?" :cool:
 


Remove ads

Top