Vampiric Touch

Demon Knight

First Post
The spell description for Spectral Hand says that it can cast any spell of 4th level or less through it.

Vampiric touch is a 3rd level spell. Would I be wrong in assuming that I can cast a maximized Vampiric Touch through a Spectral Hand?

According to the PHB, spells behave like their original level. They only use a higher level spell slot. With the exception of Heighten Spell, it seems I can do this with Spectral Hand. But this seems a bit overpowered to me. Casting a maximized, empowered Vampiric Touch(42 + 7d6 damage, assuming 15th level caster) at a range of 100+ ft seems wrong to me. And in DnD, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. So can someone help me out?

Another question. How fast can a spectral hand move? Does it stay by my side until I use it, then instantly shoots out to hit my opponent, returning instantly by my side? No speed is given for the hand, so I'm not sure how this works.

Any help is greatly appreciated in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Vampiric touch is a 3rd level spell. Would I be wrong in assuming that I can cast a maximized Vampiric Touch through a Spectral Hand?

Note that, for example, you can't store a maximised Vampiric Touch in a wand or a spell-storing weapon. You can't use Imbue With Spell Ability to allow someone to cast a triple-Empowered Bull's Strength.

However, the save DC is the same as the base spell, and your maximised Vampiric Touch won't function in a Globe of Invulnerability.

The trend seems to be that the higher level applies when it meets a restriction on what the caster can do, but the lower level applies where it benefits the defender.

My assumption, given this, would be that your Spectral Hand cannot deliver the Maximised VT.

-Hyp.
 

Another question. How fast can a spectral hand move? Does it stay by my side until I use it, then instantly shoots out to hit my opponent, returning instantly by my side? No speed is given for the hand, so I'm not sure how this works.

The wording is very similar to Spiritual Weapon. I would suggest it stays nearby until you use it, moves out to deliver the spell, and remains there after delivering the spell until your next initiative. At that point, you either redirect it, in which case it moves to a new target; or you ignore it, in which case it returns to you automatically.

This is, of course, merely opinion, since as you say, the wording is unclear.

-Hyp.
 

Vampiric Touch has a 10d6 maximum, so a Maximized, Empowered Vampiric Touch would do 60 points plus 1/2 10d6.

I am not sure about the Spectral Hand. As long as you are not Heightening the spell, it should work. I do know that you use the higher metamagic level for metamagicked spells and wands, but that is differant.

I don't find that too powerful for a 15th or higher level wizard. They can do worse.

:D
 

Re: Re: Vampiric Touch

Hypersmurf said:


The wording is very similar to Spiritual Weapon. I would suggest it stays nearby until you use it, moves out to deliver the spell, and remains there after delivering the spell until your next initiative. At that point, you either redirect it, in which case it moves to a new target; or you ignore it, in which case it returns to you automatically.

This is, of course, merely opinion, since as you say, the wording is unclear.

-Hyp.
That's how I do it. Since it does not list a speed for the hand, it can go anywhere the wizard directs it within the range of the spell.
 

Vampiric Touch has a 10d6 maximum, so a Maximized, Empowered Vampiric Touch would do 60 points plus 1/2 10d6.

It will do that if youre level 20, of course, but VT does damage based on half your level (round down). 1/2 of 15 is 7d6.
 

Casting a maximized, empowered Vampiric Touch(42 + 7d6 damage, assuming 15th level caster)

Vampiric Touch has a 10d6 maximum, so a Maximized, Empowered Vampiric Touch would do 60 points plus 1/2 10d6.

I know it's a bit off-topic but... if normal damage is 10d6, isn't it just plain 90 when maximized & empowered?
 


Darklone said:
Depends if you allow the Maximize to enhance the Empowered dice.... which many DMs don't.

More accurately, WOTC says you're not supposed to. Yes, it's in the FAQ. :D FIRST metamagic question in there, in fact.
 


Remove ads

Top