Vop vs spell casting materials

Dimwhit said:
What about the 1sp for the peasant's outfit? Or the 2gp for the dagger? Or the 5gp for the spell component pouch? Nothing says a VoP character can't have anything of any value whatsoever.

Actually, it does.

And those items are specifically called out as exceptions to the "You cannot own any material possessions" rule.

Spellbooks - especially spellbooks whose cost would feed a family for a significant period of time - are not called out as exceptions to the rule.

Ergo, you can't have a spellbook.

I don't think it's unreasonable to allow a VoP Wizard to have a simple spellbook so that he/she can perform the basic function of the class.

Whereas I would - and the rules agree.

I never said it was anything other than my call as a DM.

I could've sworn that you were arguing that the BoED says a wizard can carry and fill a spellbook. If you aren't, could you make that clearer?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I could've sworn that you were arguing that the BoED says a wizard can carry and fill a spellbook. If you aren't, could you make that clearer?

Nope, never said the BoED says a Wizard can carry a spellbook. Just that I'd allow it, and that I think it fits within the spirit of the concept of VoP.

I thought I was making it clear...

As for the spell book, that would be a DM call, and you made it. Personally, I'd allow it, but...

VoP is far from a Black&White concept. Lots of DM's calls and DM/Player discussion needed before jumping into it.

I equate a VoP character with a spellbook the same as a VoP Cleric with a mundane holy symbol. I'd allow both, but that's just me.

So does it violate VoP to allow a spellbook? By RAW, perhaps.

I don't think it's unreasonable to allow a VoP Wizard to have a simple spellbook so that he/she can perform the basic function of the class. As a DM, I would allow that. I never said it was anything other than my call as a DM.
 

Dimwhit said:
A spell component pouch is two-months salary for an untrained laborer. Why would you consider that and poverty in the same sentence?
I would consider them in the same sentence because Vow of Poverty explicitly tells me to. :)
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I would consider them in the same sentence because Vow of Poverty explicitly tells me to. :)
Yes, but that gets into the other discussion of VoP. Is the list of allowed items all-inclusive? I, personally, don't think so. This gets into the 'flower in the hair' argument from another thread. By what's written there, a Druid couldn't wear a flower in her hair or own a pet rock. I think you need to read through VoP, get a feel for what it's about, and make a judgement call on all those things not mentioned. But playing it strict with that list is fine, too. To each his own. :)
 

The body tatoos are a suggestion I had already thought of. But as was very astutely pointed out - that option can only get you up to 5th level. (Actually, I think less than that. If I did my math right in the CArc it comes up to the body being less than 80 pages. So ... is that when you get a cohort and start tatooing their body? :) [Aside. Hmmm ... interesting character concept if nothing else...]

The other option in the CArc that seems cool is the tokens. Nothing like a VoP wizard carrying around a back full of rock, bones, branches, etc. If I were to do any, I'd allow this option before spellbooks. But in the end - the shape of something shouldn't really allow breaking the rules. Rules are rules. And I am in the camp that says a VoP wizard is almost a contradiction in terms. Why be a wiazrd if it doesn't lead to financial success down the road? Because all the good spells are gonna cost you something. Okay, not all. But most of them will! :)
 
Last edited:

Quote:
Originally Posted by irdeggman
It does not state anywhere that a wizard only knows the spells contained in his spellbook. More specifically it doesn't state that he muct record them into his spellbook in order to know them.

He knows the spells he learns.

The two free spells per level must be written into the spellbook, making this line of thinking interesting, but irrelevant for the current topic. "Each time a character attains a new wizard level, she gains two spells of her choice to add to her spellbook." So, the wizard can't learn new spells because he can't use scrolls or captured spellbooks and the two free spells must be written into the spellbook. Of course, if you let the wizard actually use scrolls and captured spellbooks, you might as well let him keep them.

It does not state they must be written into a spell book.

SRD:

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from her prohibited school or schools, if any; see School Specialization, below) plus three 1st-level spells of your choice. For each point of Intelligence bonus the wizard has, the spellbook holds one additional 1st-level spell of your choice. At each new wizard level, she gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that she can cast (based on her new wizard level) for her spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to her own.



Quote:
Originally Posted by irdeggman
If he doesn't have them written down he can't memorize them (i.e., prepare them) for casting.

True. Also, if he doesn't have them written down in his spellbook, he can't even prepare them from someone else's spellbook. "A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell she already knows and has recorded in her own spellbook..."


True, but what about when a wizard has lost his spellbook or had it destroyed? He no longer has one and he can replace the spellbook as follows:

Replacing and Copying Spellbooks
A wizard can use the procedure for learning a spell to reconstruct a lost spellbook. If she already has a particular spell prepared, she can write it directly into a new book at a cost of 100 gp per page (as noted in Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook, above). The process wipes the prepared spell from her mind, just as casting it would. If she does not have the spell prepared, she can prepare it from a borrowed spellbook and then write it into a new book.

Duplicating an existing spellbook uses the same procedure as replacing it, but the task is much easier. The time requirement and cost per page are halved.


Another point is in the skill description for Spellcraft.

Spellcraft DC: 15 + spell level

Task: Learn a spell from a spellbook or scroll (wizard only). No retry for that spell until you gain at least 1 rank in Spellcraft (even if you find another source to try to learn the spell from). Requires 8 hours.


Spellcraft DC: 20 + spell level

Task: Decipher a written spell (such as a scroll) without using read magic. One try per day. Requires a full round action.



Spells Copied from Another’s Spellbook or a Scroll: A wizard can also add a spell to her book whenever she encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard’s spellbook. No matter what the spell’s source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings, above). Next, she must spend a day studying the spell. At the end of the day, she must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell’s level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from her specialty school. She cannot, however, learn any spells from her prohibited schools. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into her spellbook (see

Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook, below). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.

If the check fails, the wizard cannot understand or copy the spell. She cannot attempt to learn or copy that spell again until she gains another rank in Spellcraft. A spell that was being copied from a scroll does not vanish from the scroll.

In most cases, wizards charge a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks. This fee is usually equal to the spell’s level x50 gp.

Basically IMO as I read the material in total I end up with:

To learn a spell a wizard must make a decipher arcane writing check (if it is written down somewhere else). DC 20+ level of spell. This gets him a rudimentary understanding of the spell in question.

To learn the spell he must then make a spellcraft check of 15 + spell level.

He can then scribe it into his spell book and subsequently prepare it.

It is interesting though when it


Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook
Once a wizard understands a new spell, she can record it into her spellbook.
Time: The process takes 24 hours, regardless of the spell’s level.
Space in the Spellbook: A spell takes up one page of the spellbook per spell level. Even a 0-level spell (cantrip) takes one page. A spellbook has one hundred pages.
Materials and Costs: Materials for writing the spell cost 100 gp per page.
Note that a wizard does not have to pay these costs in time or gold for the spells she gains for free at each new level.

and

Replacing and Copying Spellbooks
A wizard can use the procedure for learning a spell to reconstruct a lost spellbook. If she already has a particular spell prepared, she can write it directly into a new book at a cost of 100 gp per page (as noted in Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook, above). The process wipes the prepared spell from her mind, just as casting it would. If she does not have the spell prepared, she can prepare it from a borrowed spellbook and then write it into a new book.

Duplicating an existing spellbook uses the same procedure as replacing it, but the task is much easier. The time requirement and cost per page are halved.

Which seems confusing to me at least.

At one time the RAW says once a wizard understands a spell he can scribe it into his spellbook and on the other it says in order to scribe it into his spellbook he has to prepare it and then expend this preparation when scribing it.

But he can't prepare a spell unless he uses a spell book to do it from.
 

Write those two new spells on a wall. Thus the wizard donates his knowledge to the world. Seems fitting for a selfless character.
 

My appologies for not reading all the thread, but I just wanted to mention that an option is to use the option in one Dragon Magazine for alternative spellbooks for wizards. I think one was Tattoos. Also, if a wizard can't have a spell book, you can always use Spell Mastery :)
 

irdeggman said:
It does not state they must be written into a spell book.
Actually, it does as my quote proved. The two free spells are explicitly "to add to her spellbook."
irdeggman said:
True, but what about when a wizard has lost his spellbook or had it destroyed? He no longer has one and he can replace the spellbook as follows:
He could, but not and maintain the VoP feat.

irdeggman said:
Another point is in the skill description for Spellcraft.
What's the point? I see you quoting Spellcraft, but you make no point on it. :)

irdeggman said:
Basically IMO as I read the material in total I end up with: (snip)
Agreed.
irdeggman said:
Which seems confusing to me at least.

At one time the RAW says once a wizard understands a spell he can scribe it into his spellbook and on the other it says in order to scribe it into his spellbook he has to prepare it and then expend this preparation when scribing it.
A wizard can scribe the spell after learning it, as part of learning it. You pointed out that this is a choice that need not actually occur and that the wizard could do that in order to qualify for Spell Mastery (which only stipulates that the wizard know a spell). I agree, but the VoP wizard can't use the scrolls or spellbooks in the first place, right?

irdeggman said:
But he can't prepare a spell unless he uses a spell book to do it from.
Or Spell Mastery, yes.

In Summary, IMO:

1. A VoP wizard can't have a spellbook. That alone is enough to say no go, pick another character concept. But, assuming that you allow the VoP to have his one free spellbook, the remaining points are valid.
2. A VoP wizard cannot use scrolls or others' spellbooks, thus rendering Spell Mastery useless.
3. A VoP wizard with a spellbook can scribe his two free spells per level into his spellbook, but he'll run out of room eventually.
4. A VoP cannot replace his free spellbook with one that is not part of the class. This is distinction from someone just giving him a free spellbook. I don't think anyone would think that the VoP character (of any class) could have/use anything if only it were free.
5. The two free spells must be scribed in his spellbook.

Does that about cover it? Clearly, a wizard is not a viable class for VoP. This is not any different than a fighter not being a viable class for Empower Spell. :)
 

after reading VoP front to back I have made the final decision, no Wizard class. Furthermore if he wishes to be a Sorcerer he cannot cast spells that cost above 1gp of material, we as a house rule automatically give Sorcerers Eschew materials (makes 0 to little sense that a untrained spellcaster with no mentor would learn that a grasshopper leg makes him jump 20' etc). The value of the spellbook does indeed go against the VoP, the book itself, plus the value of spells each page, the ink etc. It is a powerful feat (VoP) as it is. Plus if it were my pc I would have chosen Sorcerer anyways but thats just me. FYI he is still taking the 2 levels of Monk so he will be 5th level multiclass 2 Monk/ 3 Sorcerer w/ Vop.

Thank you for all the input.

Malum
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top