Wall of Fire Spell

rvalle

First Post
Can more then one Wall of Fire be cast in the same area and would the effects stack?

Not stack as in "you get 4d6 plus level" but stack in "you get 2d6+level twice".

rv
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Multiple effects from the same spell do not stack, but they do overlap. If someone were to walk through a line overlapped by two Walls of Fire, you would roll 2d6+x twice, and take the higher of the two rolls.
 

Although opinions vary on whether damage is counted under the "Multiple effects from the same spell do not stack, but they do overlap." clause - I don't think it does include damage, for instance.

e.g. If two fireballs go off simultaneously (twin spell, say?) I reckon the targets will take full damage for each fireball, not just the highest. If someone is hit by two melfs acid arrows, he will take damage for each arrow, not just the highest.

So in your circumstances, I believe that the damage from each wall of fire would be applied separately.
 

Addendum: as a DM I'd probably tackle this on a case by case basis - for instance, I would be uneasy about having 'double strength acid fogs' by casting acid fog twice on the same area.

I mention this because there is a degree of support for either view :)
 


Plane Sailing said:
e.g. If two fireballs go off simultaneously (twin spell, say?) I reckon the targets will take full damage for each fireball, not just the highest. If someone is hit by two melfs acid arrows, he will take damage for each arrow, not just the highest.

Even if you believe that damage should not stack from identical spells (as I do), simultaneous Fireballs will still function together, as instantaneous spells are a specific exception:
Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous durations work cumulatively when they affect the same target.
 


Deset Gled said:
Multiple effects from the same spell do not stack, but they do overlap. If someone were to walk through a line overlapped by two Walls of Fire, you would roll 2d6+x twice, and take the higher of the two rolls.
Keep in mind that the section of rules you are using to base your judgment specify "Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes..." Wall of fire is none of that, nor is it a mental control effect.

IMO, nothing keeps both spells from functioning normally, simultaneously. The same thing with cloudkill.
 

Ok, this is the closest rule I can find:

From d20srd.org

"Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths
In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies. "

So, lets say a 10th level wiz casts a wall of fire in the same place a 15th level has one, only one would be in effect (either the 15th level one or which ever one rolled higher on the damage...)

If that is true, then if 2 15th level guys both cast the spell in the same place only 1 would apply as well.

Right?

rv
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Keep in mind that the section of rules you are using to base your judgment specify "Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes..." Wall of fire is none of that, nor is it a mental control effect.

The full rules text:

COMBINING MAGICAL EFFECTS
Spells or magical effects usually work as described, no matter how many other spells or magical effects happen to be operating in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, a spell does not affect the way another spell operates. Whenever a spell has a specific effect on other spells, the spell description explains that effect. Several other general rules apply when spells or magical effects operate in the same place:
Stacking Effects: Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves. More generally, two bonuses of the same type don’t stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above).
Different Bonus Names: The bonuses or penalties from two different spells stack if the modifiers are of different types. A bonus that isn’t named stacks with any bonus.
Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies.
Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.
One Effect Makes Another Irrelevant: Sometimes, one spell can render a later spell irrelevant. Both spells are still active, but one has rendered the other useless in some fashion.
Multiple Mental Control Effects: Sometimes magical effects that establish mental control render each other irrelevant, such as a spell that removes the subjects ability to act. Mental controls that don’t remove the recipient’s ability to act usually do not interfere with each other. If a creature is under the mental control of two or more creatures, it tends to obey each to the best of its ability, and to the extent of the control each effect allows. If the controlled creature receives conflicting orders simultaneously, the competing controllers must make opposed Charisma checks to determine which one the creature obeys.
Spells with Opposite Effects: Spells with opposite effects apply normally, with all bonuses, penalties, or changes accruing in the order that they apply. Some spells negate or counter each other. This is a special effect that is noted in a spell’s description.
Instantaneous Effects: Two or more spells with instantaneous durations work cumulatively when they affect the same target.

Emphasis both yours and mine. I believe that the "same effect" section of this text covers all effects (including damage), as many of the other references to "effects" indicate something other than a bonus or a penalty. As PC pointed out, though, this is arguable.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top