Wands Clarification please

Do you actually think that's the way it's supposed to work?

Because I have trouble seeing how you used up a charge if you didn't actually activate an item. If you failed to activate it, then you are no different any other non-spell user trying to activate it.

That's right. I'd burn a charge if the fighter tried to activate it as well.

It's not supported by rules - this is a personal solution to the debate about identifying wands by "trying all the spells".

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:


I do the same, actually.

I also allow people to attempt blind activation of wands:

"Okay, so Detect Magic says it's a Faint aura of Conjuration(Healing). Could be Cure Light, Cure Moderate, or Cure Serious Wounds... I try the Spell Trigger Activation for Cure Light Wounds to heal Bob."

"Nothing happens. One charge spent."

"Cure Moderate?"

"Nothing happens. One charge spent."

"Cure Serious?"

"Bob looks better! One charge spent."

-Hyp.

I like that...*steals..errr, borrows* :D
 

So to get an official recap.

A 1st level ranger could use a wand of cure light wounds?

also if you purchase a wand of color spray what would saving throw be?
 

Boone said:
A 1st level ranger could use a wand of cure light wounds?

Yes.

Boone said:
also if you purchase a wand of color spray what would saving throw be?

Saves are based on the minimum ability score needed to cast the spell. So, DC of 10 + (3/2)*(spell level), round down.
 

By default items are created with the absolute minimum requirements, however this does not include the int/cha of the wandmaker, however for consistency it makes sense to assume minimum here as well (YMMV) so first level spell = 11 int/cha or +0 bonus.

Save DC = 10 + 1 + 0 = 11
 

By default items are created with the absolute minimum requirements, however this does not include the int/cha of the wandmaker, however for consistency it makes sense to assume minimum here as well (YMMV) so first level spell = 11 int/cha or +0 bonus.

The wandmaker's ability has no effect on the DC of the item.

Caster Level has no effect on the DC of the item.

A 20th level wizard with 30 Int, Spell Focus and Greater Spell Focus (Illusion), and funky Spell Power PrC abilities... and a 5th level wizard with an 11 Int... both make a Wand of Color Spray with a DC of 11.

There is an Epic Feat that allows you to add your ability modifiers to an item DC. Other than that, the only way to affect the DC is to use the Heighten Spell feat to raise the spell level.

A wand of Color Spray Heightened to 4th level has a DC of 16... but it also costs 28 times as much to make as the basic wand of Color Spray.

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top