Warmage and Extra Spell

Hypersmurf said:
Or is it obvious that it means 'every third shadowdancer level'?

Of course it means every third, that is what it says. Or did you mean 'is it obvious it means every third level beyond the level where you recieved the ability'?

I dont see how this really relates though. Spell is a pretty vague word considering that there are so many different 'spells' which may be cast.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Scion said:
Of course it means every third, that is what it says. Or did you mean 'is it obvious it means every third level beyond the level where you recieved the ability'?

No, I mean my shadowdancer gained six levels beyond the level where he received the ability... they just happened to be levels in a different class.

The paladin abilities all refer to your paladin level. The shadowdancer ability just say "every third level you gain"... it doesn't specifically require that those levels be gained in the shadowdancer class.

A Rog7/ShD3 is 'a shadowdancer'. A Rog7/ShD3 who becomes a Rog10/ShD3 is a Rog7/ShD3 who has gained three levels, no? And thus, that Rog10 level counts as one of 'every third level gained by the shadowdancer', right?

... or do we have to assume that even though it doesn't state 'every third shadowdancer level', the word is understood?

-Hyp.
 

prc's are assumed to be talking about themselves when they discuss their abilities, but I guess you could take it either way if you wanted to.

Still doesnt say anything about the spells, since it isnt limited to a class and the issue is seperate.
 

Scion said:
Still doesnt say anything about the spells, since it isnt limited to a class and the issue is seperate.

"You learn one additional spell at any level up to one lower than the highest level of spell you can currently cast. Thus, a 4th-level sorcerer (maximum spell level 2nd) gains a new 0-level or 1st-level spell known with which to expand her repertoire..."

The sorcerer gains a "new spell known" as an "additional spell".

His 'Spells Known' come* from his spell list. There's nothing to suggest Extra Spell changes that.

It's a quantitative change, not a qualitative change.

Likewise, the wizard learns one more spell. But spells that aren't wizard spells are no good to him.

-Hyp.
*'primarily', apparently.
 

there is nothing to suggest it is limited to that either.

After all, it also allows the wizard a spell that he would normally be unable to research. The only spells he cannot research are ones that would normally not go on his list.

I know what you are trying to say, but I dont agree that it is necissarily that way. It says you get a spell of a certain level or lower. While it does not say you could get one not on your spell list it also doesnt say what spell list it does come from. It just says spell.

The other casters get spells from their list normally, feats can change this. So, saying that normally X happens when Y can change it doesnt necissarily have any bearing. It can be ruled that way, but I see no reason for it to always be ruled that way.
 

Scion said:
It says you get a spell of a certain level or lower. While it does not say you could get one not on your spell list it also doesnt say what spell list it does come from. It just says spell.

Then you still end up with Thanee's point - unless the spell is added to the wizard's list, he can't cast it.

Now, I'm waiting to hear what Thanee thinks if a sorcerer ends up with a spell known that isn't on his spell list, but that's a separate question :)

-Hyp.
 

Why cant they cast it? they know it, they can memorize it or cast it. The wizard is able to prepare and cast any spell in his spellbook. This feat puts it in his spellbook.
 

Scion said:
The wizard is able to prepare and cast any spell in his spellbook.

Source?

And evidence that it trumps "A wizard casts arcane spells which are drawn from the sorcerer/ wizard spell list"?

-Hyp.
 

"Spell Selection and Preparation: Until she prepares spells from her spellbook..."

Spells are prepared from the spellbook and the feat seems to put the spell there. Or there is some other 'learning' that is going on, but obviously the wizard can prepare the spell from wherever it is stored.
 

I would again point to Arcane Disciple. The argument of Extra Spell is moot with how much superior Arcane Disciple is, no matter how you interpret Extra Spell.
 

Remove ads

Top