Water Walking and Scrags (Aq. Trolls)

tbitonti

First Post
Here is a question for the Water Walk spell: What happens when a creature
reaches up out of the water and grapples you? Can the creature pull you
into the water? Will the water form an impenetrable plane (for you), with
the creature's 'pull' adding to your weight?

Related: If you are underwater and you receive water walk, you are supposed
to rise at 60' per round. What happens if you are either held, say, with a chain,
or grappled but otherwise unfixed, say, if you were just grappled by a Scrag?
In the first case, seems that you will rise as much as possible, but then remain
held. In the second case, I think that you and the Scrag would rise, but at
a lower rate. But, what if the Scrag were swimming downward while you were
grappled?

This came up in a session tonight, where a troup of Scrags (aquatic trolls)
attacked our party, who were water walking at the time.

Thx,

TFB
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I do not believe that a creature could be pulled below the suface of the water when under the effects of a Water Walk spell. I think that since the surface created by the spell functions as firm ground one could not be pulled below it unless it was disrupted which would in my opinion require magical means. If you ruled that a creature could be pulled below the surface it think I would allow the spell to raise the creature as long as it was submerged.

If a creature is grappled wile rising do to the effects of a Water Walk spell I think it would still rise at 60ft per round. I think the creature grappling creature under the effects of Water Walk could move that creature down ward if it wished by using the Move grapple option.

If a creature was bond underwater I think it would rise as far as possible and remain bound. I think the spell would still attempt to raise the creature for its duration.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top