Weird how exhausted folks can charge.


log in or register to remove this ad

My favourite oddity is that if you're nauseated (restricted to a single move action each round), you can't take an attack action (standard action), but you could conceivably make a restricted Charge.

It depends whether "restricted to a standard or move action" means "restricted to standard or restricted to move" or "restricted to standard-or-move"...

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
My favourite oddity is that if you're nauseated (restricted to a single move action each round), you can't take an attack action (standard action), but you could conceivably make a restricted Charge.

I don't think so.

From the 3.5 SRD

Nauseated: Experiencing stomach distress. Nauseated creatures are unable to attack, cast spells, concentrate on spells, or do anything else requiring attention. The only action such a character can take is a single move action per turn.

It's exactly the same wording in the PHB Glossary, except add this: 'plus free actions (except for casting quickened spells).
 
Last edited:

AGGEMAM said:
I don't think so.

"If you are able to take only a standard action or a move action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed). You can’t use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action or move action on your turn."

If you're nauseated, you're restricted to taking only a move action on my turn. Depending on how that "or" is read, "you can still charge".

-Hyp.
 

I think the "standard action or move action" is to be seen together, that is you must be able to do a standard action and you must be able to do a move action, but not both.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
I think the "standard action or move action" is to be seen together, that is you must be able to do a standard action and you must be able to do a move action, but not both.

And that possibility is why it's 'depending on how the "or" is read'.

-Hyp.
 


Thanee said:
Yeah, absolutely, but it only makes sense that way. ;)

Restricted charges are weird in 3.5 anyway (see the Readied Restricted Charge debate, for example), so one more weirdness wouldn't be unexpected :)

-Hyp.
 


AGGEMAM said:
Pretty much rules out charging IMO.

Of course, "attack" is one of those words with several meanings :)

Now, I agree with you - Nauseated imposes more restrictions than just the single move action, which does fairly clearly prohibit a charge. But under some other circumstance when one is restricted to just a move action (without the explicit prohibition on attacking), the same ambiguity in the wording of a restricted charge will crop up.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top