What all is included in [W]?

[W] is dice only. Period. Ever.

+ Attribute will add your attribute bonus, if it appears in the power.

If the power you are using has the Weapon keyword, then you get to add any enhancement bonuses from items, feats, powers, etc. for using that weapon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

[W] is dice only. Period. Ever.

+ Attribute will add your attribute bonus, if it appears in the power.

If the power you are using has the Weapon keyword, then you get to add any enhancement bonuses from items, feats, powers, etc. for using that weapon.
Thank you.
 

So lets say i have an power i use with my longsword (1d8), 18 str (+4) and some feat that gives me +2 damage...

[W] = 1d8 +2
[W]+Str = 1d8 +6
2[W] = 2d8 +2
2[W]+str = 2d8 +6

And if the longsword becomes an +4

[W] = 1d8 +4
[W]+Str = 1d8 +10
2[W] = 2d8 +4
2[W]+str = 2d8 +10

Correct?
 

Page 276 of the PHB will answer your question. In short, [W] is your weapon damage die only, without any bonuses (which you add in after making whatever multiple rolls), as per Sceadeau's example above.

Yes, but if the power has the "weapon" keyword, you get to add "proficiency bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls from your weapon or an enhancement bonus to your attack rolls and damage rolls from magic weapon..." pp. 55-56.

So in the case of a twin-striking ranger with a +1 weapon, you do 1[W] per attack, which is 1d10+1 if you're using a bastard sword, etc.

Edit: wow, I only got beat to that punch by about 50 people. Sorry!
 
Last edited:

Compare it to implement powers; for an implement power it might say "deal 3d6+int damage". There is no rule implying that 3d6 triples the bonus damage from your +2 wand. you just add the +2 at the end. Same logic should follow for weapons. 3[W] should be the 'same' as 3d6 ie you're only rolling dice, no static numbers. Enhancements are added by the keyword, not the 3[W] or the 3d6.
 

So lets say i have an power i use with my longsword (1d8), 18 str (+4) and some feat that gives me +2 damage...

[W] = 1d8 +2
[W]+Str = 1d8 +6
2[W] = 2d8 +2
2[W]+str = 2d8 +6

And if the longsword becomes an +4

[W] = 1d8 +4
[W]+Str = 1d8 +10
2[W] = 2d8 +4
2[W]+str = 2d8 +10

Correct?
Correct, [W] is just the weapons base damage die (like 1d8 for longsword).
After the rolling of the dice you can add Weapon focus + enhancement bonusi and modifier (if the power allows it).

So Str 18, +2 weapon, and +2 featr bonus (weapon focus for instance):

1[W] =1d8
2[W]+Str= 2d8 +2 feat+2 magic+4 Str
3[W]+ no modifer = 3d8 +2 feat+2 magic
 

So lets say i have an power i use with my longsword (1d8), 18 str (+4) and some feat that gives me +2 damage...

[W] = 1d8 +2
[W]+Str = 1d8 +6
2[W] = 2d8 +2
2[W]+str = 2d8 +6

And if the longsword becomes an +4

[W] = 1d8 +6
[W]+Str = 1d8 +10
2[W] = 2d8 +6
2[W]+str = 2d8 +10

Correct?

Not quite. I made corrections in red.

+2 from feat and +4 from longsword is equal to +6.
 


Yes, but if the power has the "weapon" keyword, you get to add "proficiency bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls from your weapon or an enhancement bonus to your attack rolls and damage rolls from magic weapon..." pp. 55-56.

Just a minor nitpick, but proficiency doesn't add to damage rolls, just attack rolls. That's cleared up in the errata.
 

Remove ads

Top