What effects can cross a Summoning circle?

F5

Explorer
So, I'm trying to figure out what a powerful outsider (say, a Balor, 3.0 version) could do while trapped by Planar Binding inside a calling diagram.

The rules say that "none of its abilities or attacks can cross the diagram". This is pretty straightforward. But, what if it had some item with it when it was Called; say a Helm of Brilliance? Would blasts from the Helm count as the Balor's "abilities or attacks", and be blocked by the diagram, or would they be considered abilities of the helm it's wearing, seperate from the Balor?

I'm leaning towards the blasts being blocked...the attack is being directed by the balor, not the helm itself. But I'm not sure. Anyone have any advice?

And if a helm of brilliance wouldn't work, is there anything else that might?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remove ads

Top