What happens when your invisible, flying, and telepathically bonded?

Three_Haligonians

First Post
Hey all,

Last time we played we ran into a strange situation that we didn't know how to handle rules-wise. Here's the situation:

I wanted to cast Fly on the npc, which is a touch-attack spell. Under the rules on touch attacks, it says that trying to touch a friend does not require a check. However, my character was invisible, as was the npc (Greater Invisiblity). We do share a permanent Rary's Telepathic Bond, though. J ruled that I had a fifty percent miss-chance because we were invisible. I failed, but retained the spell. Next round, I had the npc make a touch attack on me. He passed. When it was my turn, we couldn't figure out whether or not I needed to make a touch attack still, and when the spell should get released (when the npc touched me, when I make another touch attack on the npc, or immediately as a standard or free). :confused:

Even more stange than the senario described is the fact that it has come up before . . .

PLEASE HELP!! What do you think we should have ruled??

R and J from Three Haligonians
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Three_Haligonians said:
I wanted to cast Fly on the npc, which is a touch-attack spell. Under the rules on touch attacks, it says that trying to touch a friend does not require a check. However, my character was invisible, as was the npc (Greater Invisiblity). We do share a permanent Rary's Telepathic Bond, though. J ruled that I had a fifty percent miss-chance because we were invisible.

That's what I would have ruled too.

I failed, but retained the spell. Next round, I had the npc make a touch attack on me. He passed.

Makes no difference. You need to be the one touching him.

When it was my turn, we couldn't figure out whether or not I needed to make a touch attack still, and when the spell should get released (when the npc touched me, when I make another touch attack on the npc, or immediately as a standard or free). :confused:

Yes, you still need to make a touch attack to affect him with the spell, and it takes a standard action. If he was still touching you, I'd let you succeed without the 50% miss chance (still takes a standard action) since you know exactly where he is.
 

You could have just each grabbed something visible, and felt around until you felt each other's hands, and then held hands and casted.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top