D&D 4E When does a 4E Encounter become an Encounter

torgg

First Post
I’m not sure if this question has been asked and answered at nauseum but I’ll ask it anyway because I did not see a thread that seemed to cover this question.


During a game my character was at an inn when I overheard some interesting conversation. I wanted to use an encounter power (Fay Step) to move to a more advantageous position (within the inn) but the DM stated that since we did not role initiative yet we were technically not in an encounter, so I would not be able to use my encounter powers. This ruling bring up all kinds of questions for me, such as, what if I were participating in a skill challenge that could benefit (in some manner) from the use of an encounter power. Moreover, I was reading the “Mithrendain, Citadel of the Feywild” article on dndinsider and it indicated that the Eladrin use Fay Step to travel and/or move from location to location. I guess I want to know two things. First, if and when I can use encounter powers and how much time (in between each use) must pass before they can be used again (when not in a combat situations specifically). Second, what exactly qualifies as an encounter?

Thanks everyone,

Torgg
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I’m not sure if this question has been asked and answered at nauseum but I’ll ask it anyway because I did not see a thread that seemed to cover this question.


During a game my character was at an inn when I overheard some interesting conversation. I wanted to use an encounter power (Fay Step) to move to a more advantageous position (within the inn) but the DM stated that since we did not role initiative yet we were technically not in an encounter, so I would not be able to use my encounter powers. This ruling bring up all kinds of questions for me, such as, what if I were participating in a skill challenge that could benefit (in some manner) from the use of an encounter power. Moreover, I was reading the “Mithrendain, Citadel of the Feywild” article on dndinsider and it indicated that the Eladrin use Fay Step to travel and/or move from location to location. I guess I want to know two things. First, if and when I can use encounter powers and how much time (in between each use) must pass before they can be used again (when not in a combat situations specifically). Second, what exactly qualifies as an encounter?

Thanks everyone,

Torgg

The Core Rules give a definition of this. A short rest (5 minutes) is required to regain encounter powers, and as such, you can use your encounter powers every 5 minutes.

An encounter doesn't require rolling of initiative in this context, but if the DM wanted to do that anyway, the moment you use Fey Step could be the moment you roll initiative (this basically being your surprise action.)
 

Your DM will determine what an encounter is or is not, and whether you can use your encounter powers or not. This is known as making a ruling, and is the primary role of the DM.
 

Your DM will determine what an encounter is or is not, and whether you can use your encounter powers or not. This is known as making a ruling, and is the primary role of the DM.

However, simply using the definition given by RAW whereby encounter powers are regained after a short rest (5 min.), would ensure that the player knew when his powers actually work and that it isn't dependent on dm fiat.

But ofcourse, a dm is in his rights to alter the rules as he sees fit. I usually think it best to use existing rules or discuss any changes beforehand. However, it would be my guess that both dm and player were unaware of the actual rule.
 


In 3e, an encounter was defined as beginning when the DM started keeping track of time in turns of rounds, and ended when there was no longer a need to do so.

Wonder if it is still applicable in 4e terms?:lol:
 

Your DM will determine what an encounter is or is not, and whether you can use your encounter powers or not. This is known as making a ruling, and is the primary role of the DM.
Nope.

This is known as "bogus", and should be treated that way.:lol:

The PCs (and Monsters!) can use encounter powers whenever they like. There is NO restriction in the RAW about "only using Encounter Powers during a fight." Recharging a used encounter power is not the same as using said encounter power, so don't get tripped up on that.

Moreover - by definition - interacting with people at a Tavern is an encounter! Note the Chapter in the DMG called "Noncombat Encounters".
Is your DM claiming what happened at the Tavern wasn't an encounter? (Heck, he probably planned the tavern scene - thus it's a planned encounter!)
 

Nope.

This is known as "bogus", and should be treated that way.:lol:

Not exactly. It's very much a house rule, and the PHB even talks about using powers outside of combat. But he's well within his rights as GM to make up a house rule.

I'd be wondering what sort of railroad adventures he's got planned that he's afraid of me teleporting in a bar, and if it was a sign of a general trend of "my way or the highway" I'd at least think about making excuses not to play in the game.
 

Everyone… thanks for your input. This was simply a clarification (by committee) on some of the new rules. The DM and I are LONG time friends and have played together just as long. This question arose from our first game with the 4E rules. I’ve already spoken to him (today) and he agrees that encounter powers could/can be used anytime. As a player you try to exploit your abilities to the fullest in any situation and this is just one of those cases.

I thank everyone who posted a reply for their time.
 

Not exactly. It's very much a house rule, and the PHB even talks about using powers outside of combat. But he's well within his rights as GM to make up a house rule.
Any DM can rule any way he wants, of course.

In this case, it seemed that no "House Rule" was made beforehand.

It reminds me of the discussion about clerical healing outside of combat.
 

Remove ads

Top