Hey guys, 5th-level Rogue here re-evaluating how he uses his SA. I've mostly been ignoring the rule that you can wait to apply SA until after you've rolled damage because I like rolling my Weapon and SA damage at the same time, and it usually doesn't seem to matter.
However, I can see some cases where it might make a difference, but I'm confused on how the rule works.
Can you wait to add SA until you find out the effect of your damage, or just until you've seen the numbers? Let's say I have CA against a bloodied monster who might die soon and I use Sly Flourish on him. I hit and deal 10 damage. Do I then say, "Hey DM, is that enough to kill him?" and if it's not, I then proceed to use SA? Or would it be like, I deal the 10 damage, tell myself, "That's probably not enough to kill him," and roll SA?
Is this clear in the PHB or does your campaign have a house rule for it? Thanks.
However, I can see some cases where it might make a difference, but I'm confused on how the rule works.
Can you wait to add SA until you find out the effect of your damage, or just until you've seen the numbers? Let's say I have CA against a bloodied monster who might die soon and I use Sly Flourish on him. I hit and deal 10 damage. Do I then say, "Hey DM, is that enough to kill him?" and if it's not, I then proceed to use SA? Or would it be like, I deal the 10 damage, tell myself, "That's probably not enough to kill him," and roll SA?
Is this clear in the PHB or does your campaign have a house rule for it? Thanks.