When to be a GM?

chongjasmine

Explorer
I am still new to the world of role-play, and just applied for my solo game.
But I hope to be a GM one day.
The question is, how do I know when I am ready?
Roughly, what is the your recommended minimum amount of games I participated as players before you recommend I take on the role as a GM?

SableWyvern

Adventurer
Roughly, what is the your recommended minimum amount of games I participated as players before you recommend I take on the role as a GM?
Zero is the minimum number of games, especially if you're playing with real life friends.

Even if you're getting a new group together with people you don't know, I suspect you'll have people eager and willing to play. Just be up front about the fact that you're new and still finding your way.

GMMichael

Guide of Modos
"I can't tell you, but it lasts forever."

Your best indicator of "time to start GMing" is when you start coming up with rule- and outcome-ideas faster than other GMs do. Or when it's about the same speed, but your internal monologue says, "this idea would have been better."

Whizbang Dustyboots

Gnometown Hero
I watched a Dimension 20 behind the scenes video that talked about this very question and pointed out that, in this day of actual plays, the person who has watched even a single season of Dimension 20 or listened to a season of The Adventure Zone or, god help us, has watched a full campaign of Critical Role, has vastly more understanding of how RPGs work than most people did the first time they began to GM.

Just watch an actual play of whatever game you're interested in -- whatever game that might be -- for a single session and you're ready, IMO. Learning from someone else has always been the best path and nowadays, nearly every game has exceptionally good GMs showing how to do it on YouTube, Twitch and elsewhere.

aco175

Legend