Who can use magic items?

lokiqc

Explorer
I'm going to have to ask this here. I've tried locating the information in the books but for some reason, I can't find it.

Which classes are able to use magic items? I guess it varies...Anyone can use potions I assume?

thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

it depends on the item...

for example, a wand is activated as a spell trigger item (DMG p 206) and spell trigger items specify "anyone with the spell on his or her spell list knows how to use it." (DMG p 175)
 

Spell completion and Spell Trigger items (typically scrolls, wands, and staves) can only be used by someone with that spell on their class spell-list.

i.e., a Wand of Cure Light Wounds (no matter who made it) can be used by Clerics, Bards, Druids, and anyone with the Healing domain (which, with some prestige classes, *might* mean a Sorceror or Wizard ...).

For all other items, if the item's description doesn't specifically limit it to a given class or classes, anyone can use it. :cool:
 

Generally, the only items you need to worry about that can only be used by certain classes are scrolls, wands and staves. I think some rods may also fall into this category.

In this situation, a character has to have the spell on his spell list to be able to cast the spell, and there is also a requirement that his spell-casting attribute be high enough to cast that spell... but that may only apply to scrolls. In the case of scrolls, if he is unable to cast the spell at his current level, he needs to make a caster level check.

For these types of items, the only way you can use them if the spell is NOT on you spell list is the Use Magic Device skill.

Magic Weapons (even Spell Storing magic weapons charged with a spell by another user), wonderous items, potions, rings, etc... can all be used by anyone unless the item specifies differently.

If I remember, the rules on this are in the DMG near the beginning of the Magic Items section. Scroll use is detailed in the scroll generator section.
 

Remove ads

Top