Wildshape and worn items

Trainz

Explorer
What happens to magic items worn by druids when they wildshape ?

Does he still benefit from them while in animal form ?

I've often heard on these boards that the new druid is one hell of a fighting machine with wildshape, but if he looses all magic items properties, I find this hard to beleive...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It depends on the shape. You need to follow the cross refernce chain back to the spell (Alter self? Disguise self? I forget what 3.5 is calling it.)

Wildshape references Polymorph, which references "the spell" and that spell has the description of what happens to magic items.

Short story: if the new form can handle an item, the item stays and still works. If the new form can't wear the item, then it's absorbed and non-functional.

So if a druid shifts to a hill giant, the magic ring will still be there and work. If they shift to a elephant, it won't. (Yes I know a hill giant isn't an animal - work with me ;) )
 

Further notes:

Armor and held items do not change size, but remain if they could still be worn/held by the new form. Other worn items will change size, but armor does not.

If an item can be held/worn by the new form, it will remain. If not, it melds into the form. There is no choice for the PC. The DM determines if it will or will not meld.
 



In 3.0 items were absorbed in whildshape.

In the PrC (Tomb of Blood - Shifter) the Greater Wildshape ability allowed the shifter to select which items did or did not meld into the form.

Also there is a item power Wilding (I think) in 3.5 which allows the magic item to be used in wildshape form.

I believe, though not sure since I don't have the books in front of me, that the druid states items are melded.
 

Vlos said:
Also there is a item power Wilding (I think) in 3.5 which allows the magic item to be used in wildshape form.
This is an armor quality, but it does have limits. The AC bonus from the armor remains, even though the armor melds. Other speciali abilities of the armor (such as fire resistance) do not seem to remain by the text, but a DM might house rule it differently.
 

jgsugden said:
Further notes:

Armor and held items do not change size, but remain if they could still be worn/held by the new form. Other worn items will change size, but armor does not.
Further notes: Clothing and jewelry will change size if they're magical (and not because of alter self/polymorph). This means that a wizard can easily end up without (for example) his boots when he changes into a new form - even if it's a humanoid.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top