Wizard's Spell Book Question

When you gain a new level, you get to add two more spells to your spellbook of any level you can cast at no extra cost. He's assuming you are adding spells of the highest level you can cast.

1st - start with 3 + INT modifier 1st level spells + all cantrips
2nd - add 2 1st level spells
3rd - add 2 2nd level spells
4th - add 2 2nd level spells
5th - add 2 3rd level spells
6th - add 2 3rd level spells
7th - add 2 4th level spells
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

prodawg said:

When you gain access to level 2 spells at 3rd level, you gain 2 level 2 spells. At what point, do you get another two?
You get 2 new spells every time you gain a class level.

When you reach Wiz2, you gain 2 first-level spells.
When you reach Wiz3, you gain 2 second-level spells.*
When you reach Wiz4, you gain 2 more second-level spells.*
When you reach Wiz5, you gain 2 third-level spells.*
And so on.

(*You can pick lower-level spells if you prefer, but people usually don't.)
 

Re: Re: Wizard's Spell Book Question

Storm Raven said:
Alternatively, you can invest in a copy of Boccob's Blessed Book as part of your equipment (for 9,500 gp) and add spells to your spell book after that for the cost of the scrolls (12.5 gp for a cantrip, 25 gp for a 1st level spell, 150 gp for a 2nd level spell, 375 gp for a 3rd level spell, and 700 gp for a 4th level spell). You can copy a mximum of 45 spells into the Blessed Book.

From the SRD:

Blessed Book
This well-made tome is always of small size, typically no more than 12 inches tall, 8 inches wide, and 1 inch thick. All such books are durable, waterproof, bound with iron overlaid with silver, and locked.
The pages of a Blessed Book freely accept spells scribed upon them, and any such book can contain up to forty-five spells of any level. This book is never found as randomly generated treasure with spells already inscribed in it.
Caster Level: 7th; Prerequisites: Craft Wondrous Item, secret page; Market Price: 9,500 gp; Weight: 1 lb.

Writing spells in the Blessed Book is free. A great investment, IMHO.

EDIT: Nevermind.... You have to buy the scrolls first :)

Andargor
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: right....

Storm Raven said:


That is the cost of acquiring a scroll of the spell of the appropriate level. You have to have the spell available to begin with to scribe it, hence, you need to acquire a scroll, unless your DM is remarkably generous and lets you assume you found a spellbook with all the spells you wanted in it or something.

It would be equally valid to copy the spell from another (NPC or PC) wizards spellbook for the cost of casting a spell plus the cost of scribing. That is cheaper and makes more sense than scribing a scroll.

If you are playing with the Forgotten Realms rules, there are the Mastering a Spellbook rules in Magic of Faerun that also help with this.
 

Re: Re: Re: right....

bret said:
It would be equally valid to copy the spell from another (NPC or PC) wizards spellbook for the cost of casting a spell plus the cost of scribing.
If I'm an NPC and you want to scribe from my book, I'll charge you almost the same price as a scroll. Consider that once you learn the spell, you won't have to pay me to cast it. If I'm going to give up that potential market, I won't do it for cheap.

I'd also require a hefty deposit, to make sure you don't just teleport away with my spellbook. But that's jus tme.
 

Re: Re: Re: Re: right....

AuraSeer said:

If I'm an NPC and you want to scribe from my book, I'll charge you almost the same price as a scroll. Consider that once you learn the spell, you won't have to pay me to cast it. If I'm going to give up that potential market, I won't do it for cheap.

Of course, PCs may belong to a guild or other organization which gives them access to spells (although they will still need to pay the scribing costs).

Furthermore, I don't think it's proper to charge for a scroll that has already been used. After all, you wouldn't make a new 8th level PC pay for the scroll of fireball he used on those ogres back at 6th level, or the potion of cure light wounds he drank at 2nd level.

J
 

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: right....

drnuncheon said:
Of course, PCs may belong to a guild or other organization which gives them access to spells (although they will still need to pay the scribing costs).


Most such guilds will require dues and impose other restrictions on the PC. See the Mage of the Arcane order class from Tome & Blood, or the Guild Wizard of Waterdeep class from Magic of Faerun for ideas in this regard. In my opinion, you don't need the PrC to be a member of those guilds, but the non-PrC members of the guils have to deal with all of the monetary issues oof the guilds as well.

Furthermore, I don't think it's proper to charge for a scroll that has already been used. After all, you wouldn't make a new 8th level PC pay for the scroll of fireball he used on those ogres back at 6th level, or the potion of cure light wounds he drank at 2nd level.

It is a current benefit, he should pay for it with current funds. The wizard is assumed to have used the one shot other items as well, but like the fighter is supposed to pay for the magic sword he has now, the wizard should pay for expanding his spellbook.
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: right....

Storm Raven said:

It is a current benefit, he should pay for it with current funds. The wizard is assumed to have used the one shot other items as well, but like the fighter is supposed to pay for the magic sword he has now, the wizard should pay for expanding his spellbook. [/B]

He is paying for the current benefit. He's paying 200 gp/spell level.

J
 



Remove ads

Top