I scanned the official errata list and the official unofficial FAQ, but could not find the answer to this question:
Here's a snippet from the PHB about spellbooks:
"Your spellbook also holds your daily and utility spells. You begin knowing two daily spells, one of which you can use on any given day. Each time you gain a level that lets you select a daily spell or a utility spell, choose two different daily spells or utility spells of that level to add to your book.
After an extended rest, you can prepare a number of daily and utility spells according to what you can cast per day for your level. You can’t prepare the same spell twice."
The Official Unofficial FAQ talks about this concept and retraining: essentially, wizards learn things in batches, and they retrain entire batches, even if they only change part of the batch.
My question is basically this: Characters [not just wizards] can use X Daily powers each day. They will be able to use 3 dailies at level 9, and may know 3 different daily powers. For most classes, only one of those will be from their highest level.
Because the Wizard learns powers in batches, can they use only one power from each batch per day, or can they use any combination of powers from any batch per day so long as they don't use the same spell twice?
Essentially, can a Wizard memorize/use both of their level 9 daily spells in a single day, so long as they do not memorize/use more than 3 daily spells that day?
Here's a snippet from the PHB about spellbooks:
"Your spellbook also holds your daily and utility spells. You begin knowing two daily spells, one of which you can use on any given day. Each time you gain a level that lets you select a daily spell or a utility spell, choose two different daily spells or utility spells of that level to add to your book.
After an extended rest, you can prepare a number of daily and utility spells according to what you can cast per day for your level. You can’t prepare the same spell twice."
The Official Unofficial FAQ talks about this concept and retraining: essentially, wizards learn things in batches, and they retrain entire batches, even if they only change part of the batch.
My question is basically this: Characters [not just wizards] can use X Daily powers each day. They will be able to use 3 dailies at level 9, and may know 3 different daily powers. For most classes, only one of those will be from their highest level.
Because the Wizard learns powers in batches, can they use only one power from each batch per day, or can they use any combination of powers from any batch per day so long as they don't use the same spell twice?
Essentially, can a Wizard memorize/use both of their level 9 daily spells in a single day, so long as they do not memorize/use more than 3 daily spells that day?