I understand that this has been asked before, but I am asking for some help again.
POWER ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisite: Str 13.
Benefit: On your action, before making attack rolls for a round, you may choose to subtract a number from all melee attack rolls and add the same number to all melee damage rolls. This number may not exceed your base attack bonus. The penalty on attacks and bonus on damage apply until your next turn.
Ok the question is thus: If I have a Fighter with a BaB +12/+7/+2 (for arguements sake) I declare I want to use power attack this round, then do I say i want to use +12 of my BaB. Is this subtracted from all my attacks and added to all my damage rolls OR do I have to say I want to take UP TO +12, +7 and +2 and those are subtracted from my hits and added to my damage rolls?
The question came up (my understanding of the rule) and I said you can only take off UP TO your maximum BaB, which is +12 on first attack, +7 on second attack and +2 on third attack, all this assumes you get a full attack action. You can say I want to take off +8,+3 or +1 or even take only up to +12 on first attack and nothing on last 2.
Please tell me if I am intrepeting this wrong.
Also using a Greatsword and I have a +10 BaB then I subtract 10 from attack and add 20 to damage? (doubling the damage due to two handed weapon) Is this correct?
POWER ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisite: Str 13.
Benefit: On your action, before making attack rolls for a round, you may choose to subtract a number from all melee attack rolls and add the same number to all melee damage rolls. This number may not exceed your base attack bonus. The penalty on attacks and bonus on damage apply until your next turn.
Ok the question is thus: If I have a Fighter with a BaB +12/+7/+2 (for arguements sake) I declare I want to use power attack this round, then do I say i want to use +12 of my BaB. Is this subtracted from all my attacks and added to all my damage rolls OR do I have to say I want to take UP TO +12, +7 and +2 and those are subtracted from my hits and added to my damage rolls?
The question came up (my understanding of the rule) and I said you can only take off UP TO your maximum BaB, which is +12 on first attack, +7 on second attack and +2 on third attack, all this assumes you get a full attack action. You can say I want to take off +8,+3 or +1 or even take only up to +12 on first attack and nothing on last 2.
Please tell me if I am intrepeting this wrong.
Also using a Greatsword and I have a +10 BaB then I subtract 10 from attack and add 20 to damage? (doubling the damage due to two handed weapon) Is this correct?