Suspension of disbelief and education

So, the nitpick thread got me thinking: Is there a correlation between a person's level or education/knowledge and how much you're willing to give on suspending disbelief in entertainment?

MGibster

Legend
When I went to graduate school, my area of specialization was U.S. History from 1877-1939 mainly concentrating on prohibition and lynching. While I'm not an expert on weapons or technology of the era, I have a pretty good grasp of the era and probably part of the reason why I dislike steampunk so strongly. It just looks so stupid to me. I imagine a lot of medievalist have the same reaction to fantasy in the way weapons, armor, and other technologies are presented.

I don't know if that's generally true though. I understand that in a game like Battletech the weapons have ridiculously short ranges. Seriously, a vehicle mounted machine gun today has an effective range of 2,000 meters but the same weapon in Battletech has a 90 meter range. A lot of table top miniatures war games, like Warhammer 40k, have very short ranges partly due to practical reasons. Most of us don't have a 20 foot table to allow ranges to scale as they should. But despite the ridiculousness I don't mind suspending my disbelief like I do with steampunk.

MNblockhead

A Title Much Cooler Than Anything on the Old Site