Phun with Phasms and Polymorph

Carpe DM

First Post
Folks:

I need real rules wonks on this one. Here's the question. Can a Psion with Metamorphosis turn into a Phasm, and then use Metamorphic Transfer to use that Phasm's ability to turn into, oh, say, a Pit Fiend?

I know the resulting Pit Fiend won't have many of the abilities of the real deal, but really, the physical stats + the grapple / constrict + the unspeakable armorclass make this one a ridiculous outcome for a 4th level psionic ability.

I just want to make sure this works. For one thing, if a Phasm really can do this, how in **** can it be CR 7? That just does not make sense to me. I feel like I'm missing something, probably about the Phasm's power.

So, I ask your help for any information on how this set of powers (metamorphosis, metamorphic transfer, Phasm, Alternate form) can create this colossal combination. Please, no "rule-zero" advice, or "the PC must have encountered it first" advice. I'm a lawful neutral GM, and prefer to run the rules as written insofar as possible.

Links to prior discussions of this are particularly welcome.

very best,

-Carpe
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In the specific case of a Phasm, it works like Polymorph (at least, according to my local copy of the SRD) - which has a cap of 15 hit dice, and outsiders aren't an option - so no Pit Fiend (18 hit die outsider).
 

I would love it if there were such a limitation. I don't see it, however, either in my books (under the Phasm statblock, or the Alternate Form definition) or in the d20SRD that's online.

Thoughts on where that limitation in your SRD came from?

-Carpe
 

I would love it if there were such a limitation. I don't see it, however, either in my books (under the Phasm statblock, or the Alternate Form definition) or in the d20SRD that's online.

Thoughts on where that limitation in your SRD came from?

-Carpe
Hmm... looks like it got errata'd away somewhere along the line. Pity. So yes - technically, they could. Weird.
 

Hmm... looks like it got errata'd away somewhere along the line. Pity. So yes - technically, they could. Weird.

I'm sorry; what limitations are you talking about specifically? I don't see any missing anywhere. The way it looks, unless the caster of polymorph is an outsider, pit fiend is out at any level.
 



Remove ads

Top