Apologies if this has been posted before; I can't seem to find the search feature. Do monsters block line of effect? That is, if I'm standing on square E1 of a chessboard, and there's a monster on E4, can I center a scorching burst on E5? The rules for line of effect on page 293 say that "If every imaginary line you trace to a target passes through or touches a solid obstacle, you don’t have line of effect to the target." However, the phrase "solid obstacle" is never defined.
I'm pretty certain that monsters are not solid obstacles, but my DM disagrees. Does anyone have a link to official information which would prove I'm right (or wrong, I guess)?
I'm pretty certain that monsters are not solid obstacles, but my DM disagrees. Does anyone have a link to official information which would prove I'm right (or wrong, I guess)?