Clarification on "You and each bloodied ally"

boar

First Post
When a power grants something to "you and each bloodied ally" within a certain range, do you gain the benefit if you aren't bloodied? Grammatically, the statement reads as

(you) AND (each bloodied ally)

Since you are never your own ally, the modifier "bloodied" doesn't apply to "you." However, it seems pretty clear what the intention of the power is: only bloodied people get the benefit. Is there a rules reference to back up the intuitive reading, or do you just always let the user of the power get the benefit?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Sure, here's a really straightforward one:

Dragon's Tenacity (Warlord Utility 6, minor, close burst 5, encounter)
Target: You and each bloodied ally in burst
Effect: Each target gains a +2 power bonus to attack rolls until the end of your next turn.

A more common example is the the Warpriest level 11 attack power, which has the following effect line:

Effect: You and each bloodied ally within 10 squares of you can spend a healing surge.

No triggers here -- just a benefit to "you and each bloodied ally."
 

We had this argument with Consecrated Ground. Went with the literal wording which I don't like, but it seems fair, anything else would be guess work. The wording on Consecrated Ground is "You and any allies who are bloodied" which does not require you to be bloodied.

Other powers are more clearly indicated if they require you to be bloodied, such as Paladin's Invigorating Smite.

You'll just have to read each power carefully, and see which way it goes.
 


Sure, here's a really straightforward one:

Dragon's Tenacity (Warlord Utility 6, minor, close burst 5, encounter)
Target: You and each bloodied ally in burst
Effect: Each target gains a +2 power bonus to attack rolls until the end of your next turn.

A more common example is the the Warpriest level 11 attack power, which has the following effect line:

Effect: You and each bloodied ally within 10 squares of you can spend a healing surge.

No triggers here -- just a benefit to "you and each bloodied ally."

If you aren't bloodied then I'd say that you get it either way, in both cases illustrated.
 

We had this argument with Consecrated Ground. Went with the literal wording which I don't like, but it seems fair, anything else would be guess work. The wording on Consecrated Ground is "You and any allies who are bloodied" which does not require you to be bloodied.
We went the exact opposite with this very situation. Its just seemed to be a nturally correct conclussion that it only applied to bloodied characters (originator and other), regardless of what the argument over wording syntax might be.

Which is funny, cause the guy who played the cleric would argue every last minutae he can in his characters favor, but this one he just agreed with me.

Funny to hear people interpretting this differently.

(Edit : I do acknowledge your interpretation of the wording and agree with it. Its the interpretation of the intention I vary on)
 
Last edited:

Actually, the wording for consecrated ground is different in an interesting way. "You and any allies who are bloodied" could be:

(you) AND (any allies who are bloodied)

or:

(you and any allies) who are bloodied.

The second interpretation would require that you be bloodied to receive the healing. Since the grammar is ambiguous but the intent clear, I would rule it the second way.
 



Remove ads

Top