In our game Sunday most of our party ran away from an encounter in which they failed Fort saves and got nauseated and/or we discovered we were in a wild magic zone and 4 of our 6 characters are magic oriented.
So my summoner's eidolon, which also failed the Fort save and so was nauseated was moving to help the ranger try to flank the defending monster. At first this seemed like a legitimate move, but as we discussed the battle and waited for something to die we sort of came to the consensus that sense a nauseated character can't attack, he thus can't threaten a defender and thus doesn't provide a flanking bonus.
Now, I'd like to actually read this in the rules but can't seem to find an explicit rule about this. Can anyone point me to the chain of rules that I can read and thus confirm what we thinks makes sense? Or if you can disprove this, then I'd like to see what supports such an interpretation.
So my summoner's eidolon, which also failed the Fort save and so was nauseated was moving to help the ranger try to flank the defending monster. At first this seemed like a legitimate move, but as we discussed the battle and waited for something to die we sort of came to the consensus that sense a nauseated character can't attack, he thus can't threaten a defender and thus doesn't provide a flanking bonus.
Now, I'd like to actually read this in the rules but can't seem to find an explicit rule about this. Can anyone point me to the chain of rules that I can read and thus confirm what we thinks makes sense? Or if you can disprove this, then I'd like to see what supports such an interpretation.