D&D 5E Polearm feat vs Blink spell


log in or register to remove this ad


If there is ambiguity to the rules, I tend to default to "is the player being creative to gain an advantage? Then I'll say no AoO because I encourage creativity." That being said, what is good for the PCs is also good for the monsters...
 

Put me in on the side of "it would nto trigger an attack". Teleport specifically isn't a move, and while it's not spelled out, "entering" requires moving.
 


The rules say OA don't apply to teleporting.

Despite my initial answer, I think this probably best represents RAW. Despite the fact that the context of the statement ("You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport...") discusses only OAs provoked by leaving a creature's reach, the statement is unqualified and I can pretty much see the tweet now: "If teleportation not provoking OAs applied to only some OAs, it would say so."

But that won't keep me from quibbling with some other stuff because Internet.

I'd say not - you aren't "entering their reach" so much as "appearing out of nowhere, within their reach". Unless they can both sense creatures on the ethereal plane and attack creatures on the ethereal plane, then they don't get an Opp Attack because that's where the movement actually occurs.

So if there was a glyph that triggered "when a creature enters the room", would the glyph go off if a creature Blink'd into the room?

The key word is move. Teleporting is not moving, you simply disappear and re-appear.

The description of PAM does not use the word 'move'.
 

Despite my initial answer, I think this probably best represents RAW. Despite the fact that the context of the statement ("You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport...") discusses only OAs provoked by leaving a creature's reach, the statement is unqualified and I can pretty much see the tweet now: "If teleportation not provoking OAs applied to only some OAs, it would say so."

However, after looking some more, I'm not so sure. The effect of Blink sounds like teleportation, but the spell description doesn't use that word. And the description of Etherealness uses the word "step" for movement into the Border Ethereal. And the Border Ethereal is said to "overlap the Material Plane and the Inner Planes", and it is possible to see one from the other. Is moving between them teleportation? idk.

PHB said:
You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Could also argue that the effect of Blink is included in the second part of that, I suppose. All seems sort of fuzzy.
 

So if there was a glyph that triggered "when a creature enters the room", would the glyph go off if a creature Blink'd into the room?

Edit: Changing my answer after thinking about it longer.

That's different than provoking an Opp Attack, which specifically references movement. Even with the polearm master feat, it just adds "entering your reach" as an opportunity to make an attack. However, forced movement and teleports don't trigger an Opp Attack, so how the opponent enters or leave your reach matters.

But spells also refer to "entering the [spell's area] for the first time on a turn". At first I was thinking they would also be based on movement, but after re-reading a few spells, I don't think spells really care how you enter their area, just that you are there. For most spells it won't matter if you enter via normal movement, forced movement, dimensional movement (ie. blink or plane shift), or teleporting.

For a glyph, the trigger is whatever the caster decides. If they set it as "entering the room" - then it would be whatever the caster means by "entering the room". If the caster doesn't care if you enter via walking, dimensional travel, or teleporting, the Glyph won't care either.
 
Last edited:

Technically, no it wouldn't. If the trigger for the glyph was set by a player who didn't know "enters the area" had a specific game mechanic meaning, I'd probably give them some leeway. But maybe not.

Where is 'enters the room' defined as game terminology?
 


Remove ads

Top