Remathilis
Legend
You know who else was a vegetarian?Nah. I mean, no one has invoked Godwin's Law yet! My prediction is that won't happen before post #2000.
Any takers on that bet?![]()
... Ok, I'll stop.
You know who else was a vegetarian?Nah. I mean, no one has invoked Godwin's Law yet! My prediction is that won't happen before post #2000.
Any takers on that bet?![]()
Sure. It just get confusing when people are arguing about differnt things. Like for example I feel that some people mistake me reiterating what the rule is and what it does as me arguing that it is a well written rule and shouldn't be changed, which is not the case.I’ve done both multiple times.
Maybe... So? If instead of mask of the wild being in the wood elf rule section, the description of wood elves just said how they they can hide even when lightly obscured by foliage it might not seem like a rule. But it's in the rule section among other rules, so it obviously is a rule!And it wouldn’t be interpreted as a rule if the same sentence appeared ANYWHERE else.
Okay but the rules for multi classing say I CAN use more armor and there is nothing stopping meThe fluff you come up for your character doesn't alter the rules. Though it might be a reason for the GM to accept to houserule things.
But it is not allowed game action. Or picking up it is, but donning it isn't. Because the druid rule says druids won't do that. Yes, weird, but not unclear. Like @Snarf Zagyg has several times pointed out, in older editions a lot things just worked like this.You know back to this… if it was a rule and someone broke it by performing an allowed in game action (like picking up a Sheild) then what
Yeah if I want to wear a ceremonial armor given to me by a king and I want to wear it without it counting it as anti can I?Except that the Monk/Paladin can still wear the Full Plate if they so choose, fully aware of the consequences. But you take 1 level in Druid and suddenly that’s it! No more choices for you buckaroo! I don’t care this armor is a family heirloom, you can’t use it anymore and you can’t back away from that level of Druid even if you never take another!
it’s insane.
Except I don’t believe it is a rule.But it is not allowed game action. Or picking up it is, but donning it isn't. Because the druid rule says druids won't do that. Yes, weird, but not unclear. Like @Snarf Zagyg has several times pointed out, in older editions a lot things just worked like this.
It very much is not the same result. Can't & won't have similar meanings that in the context of their use are often the same, but in the context of this stray bit of misplaced fluff on page 65 they have very different meanings if one were substituted for the other.I am not confusing them. But they both have the same result: the thing not being done.
Also don't forget that you've previously stated that the druid also is not allowed to make use of full medium or heavy armor proficiency if they gain it through a different source like race multiclass or feat. You are arguing for a houserule very much beyond the rule and continuing to cloak it in just RAW.Yes. And that choice was made when you decided to create a druid. You cannot choose otherwise, because that's the rule!
A bit weird. And yes, I fully agree that it would be better if druid's armour limitation followed similar logic than that of monk's. But in practice there hardly is difference. Yes, a monk with heavy armour proficiency in theory could wear full plate, but they're not gonna because the mechanical penalties are so severe.Except that the Monk/Paladin can still wear the Full Plate if they so choose, fully aware of the consequences. But you take 1 level in Druid and suddenly that’s it! No more choices for you buckaroo! I don’t care this armor is a family heirloom, you can’t use it anymore and you can’t back away from that level of Druid even if you never take another!
it’s insane.
Then why are you discussing this? Why do you care what rules say, as you obviously do not believe in the concept of rules in the first place? Do what ever you want man, there are no rules!Except I don’t believe it is a rule.
No. I just believe that rules exist, I read them, and I understand what they say.It very much is not the same result. Can't & won't have similar meanings that in the context of their use are often the same, but in the context of this stray bit of misplaced fluff on page 65 they have very different meanings if one were substituted for the other.
Also don't forget that you've previously stated that the druid also is not allowed to make use of full medium or heavy armor proficiency if they gain it through a different source like race multiclass or feat. You are arguing for a houserule very much beyond the rule and continuing to cloak it in just RAW.