D&D 5E Can your Druids wear metal armor?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Then why are you discussing this? Why do you care what rules say, as you obviously do not believe in the concept of rules in the first place? Do what ever you want man, there are no rules!
There you go again. Who said I don’t believe in the concept of rules? I just see this as fluff not a rule
 

log in or register to remove this ad


And it wouldn’t be interpreted as a rule if the same sentence appeared ANYWHERE else.
I suppose this is technically true, but I don't have every line of every rule book memorized. What I will say is that it is a very specific rule that overrides the general rule on armor type proficiency. It is a unique exception to the general rule. So?

Your statement does nothing to change that it is, indeed, a rule. As sage advice says "If you want to depart from your class’s story, your DM has the final say on how far you can go and still be considered a member of the class." So if you are wearing metal armor, you are no longer a druid unless the DM okayed it. I don't see how much clearer it can be. It means what it says, it's not an issue of proficiency, druids will not wear metal armor. Doesn't matter if they had proficiency before or gain it some other way.

It's not cannot wear metal armor because A) people would just argue "why can't they" and B) that doesn't make any sense. Do they break out in hives? Explode? Does the armor get repelled like if you try to bring together two magnets ends with the same polarity?
 



FYI, the previous big threads on this topic only went to 107 posts and 642 posts.
So congrats all around for blowing the previous record out of the water!
🏆🥇🏆
Just in time for the Olympics? Wonder if we can get it in the next series of games "Pointless arguments that have no real bearing because the DM will just make the final decision"? Maybe? :unsure:
 




PC. Ok, I grab the fighter's greatsword and attack. :: Rolls:: 18 hit?
DM: roll damage.
PC: ok. 2d6 plus strength, and 4d6 sneak attack...
DM: wait! The rules say "The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon."
PC: oh. That's just fluff.
Well, there is no penalty if you try to use the great sword for sneak attack so therefore it can't be a rule! I mean, what if they choose to use a greatsword? Where's my player agency? :mad:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top