D&D 5E Grappling and gfb/bb

Warpiglet-7

Lord of the depths
Dear all:

I am looking for ways to use my strength based cleric. Now for my question:

if I am grappling a creature with one hand, and have a mace in the other, can I cast one of the “blade cantrips?”

thanks in advance for your opinion!
 

log in or register to remove this ad



….Component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somarid components.

so….

I believe the component (mace) in one hand can also meet the somatic requirements. Thoughts?

I think my arcana cleric can grapple and then hit with both gfb/bb as well as spiritual weapon and maybe? Spirit guardians…
 

Dear all:

I am looking for ways to use my strength based cleric. Now for my question:

if I am grappling a creature with one hand, and have a mace in the other, can I cast one of the “blade cantrips?”

thanks in advance for your opinion!
Yes you can use GFB or booming blade as long as you have a 1-handed weapon worth at least 1sp in the free hand.

Note you do not get booming blade damage for dragging the bad guy.
 

I believe the component (mace) in one hand can also meet the somatic requirements. Thoughts?

I wouldn't allow it. "If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures." The character doesn't have a free hand. One hand has a person, and another has a weapon. You don't have a free hand for the gestures, which are separate from the use of a material component.
 

I wouldn't allow it. "If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures." The character doesn't have a free hand. One hand has a person, and another has a weapon. You don't have a free hand for the gestures, which are separate from the use of a material component.
So a cleric that has weapon and shield you don't allow to cast most spells?

Honestly, I would never play a cleric under such conditions, that is terribly restricting.
 

I wouldn't allow it. "If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures." The character doesn't have a free hand. One hand has a person, and another has a weapon. You don't have a free hand for the gestures, which are separate from the use of a material component.
That is what I thought too.

however, I just read further. I have an old phb…but it says:

“ spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somacomponents.”

in these spells the weapon is the component

My bias is to be tough on casters generally—-I think one part of balance issues is not holding them to account to components but does that quarter text change things? I am starting to think it would allow for a one hand grappling one has with a mace and gfb/bb
 

Well, it says it has somatic component…
I see the changed it from V,M in the original to S,M in the errata. :rolleyes:

Stupid errata---there is a reason why I don't use it. ;)

Without the errata--no issues. :D

So... if you insist on using the errata....

As you say here:

….Component for each casting of the spell.
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somarid components.

so….

I believe the component (mace) in one hand can also meet the somatic requirements. Thoughts?

1650077701755.png


One hand is all you need to both hold/access material components and be able to perform somatic components.

Otherwise, a couple ways you can do this IMO. Obviously, the war caster feat allows it and appeals to even the "strict" RAW reading.

Second, it doesn't specify what the somatic component is short of "brandishing a weapon", so the DM could rule that is the somatic component and the reason why you need a weapon in hand (e.g. wielded). Otherwise, the material component (the weapon) could simply be held in a hand but not in a fashion where you could strike.

But really the highlighted potion of the text you noted should satisfy the question. :)
 

So a cleric that has weapon and shield you don't allow to cast most spells?

If you forego the shield's bonus for the round, you can cast a spell with a somatic component. Also, if you emblazon the shield with the symbol of the deity, it can serve as a holy symbol/divine focus for the material components.
 

Remove ads

Top