D&D 5E Grappling and gfb/bb

So a cleric that has weapon and shield you don't allow to cast most spells?

Honestly, I would never play a cleric under such conditions, that is terribly restricting.
A cleric can put their holy symbol on their shield so it acts as a focus.

If that is the case said cleric while carrying a weapon and a shield:

1. Can cast any spells with V only
2. Can cast any spells with any combination that includes M as long as the material components do not have a value.
3. Can cast any spell with any combination that includes M and ccomponents that do have a value as long as either the weapon or the shield is that component (so good for GFB/BB).

4 can NOT cast any spells that include S but do not include M because they do not have a hand free. If the spell requires both S and M they can use their shield with a holy symbol as a focus and the shield-holding hand can also do the somatic component.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you forego the shield's bonus for the round, you can cast a spell with a somatic component.

If you are holding a shield it costs 3 actions to do this and you would spend 2 rounds without a shield bonus.

Turn 1 - Doff shield (1 action)
No shield for this round
Turn 2 - cast spell (1 action)
No shield for this round
Turn 3 - don shield (1 action)

This assumes you start with your shield. If you don;t start with it then it takes 2 turns instead of 3. This also assumes the spell takes an action to cast. If the spell is cast with a reaction or a bonus action you could also do this in 2 turns instead of 3.
 

I wouldn't allow it. "If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures."

Read the section on material components:

A Spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a Spellcasting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic Components.

Roll20

You use the same hand for the S components that you do for the M components.

If you have a shield in one hand, and a sword in the other, and the sword is the M component, you can use the hand holding the sword to complete both the S and M components.
 






"Free hand management" is probably my least favorite part of the 5e rules.
Excessive juggling fails the "is it fun" requirement for the rules.

But, the D&DB rules compendium, which I think it's reasonable to assume is the latest version of the rules, states this:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
I.e. the hand that is holding the material component, or a focus, can perform the somatic components. That includes shields for those classes who can use a shield as a focus.

My houserule is that you can always add a focus to spellcasting components, even if the spell doesn't specify one. I.e anyone with a focus in one hand can always cast their spells (unless an expensive component is required). This just saves unfun messing around.
 

"Free hand management" is probably my least favorite part of the 5e rules.

It pretty much boils down to:

Does this spell have an S component [and not also an M component that you are currently holding] and if so, do you have a free hand?

War caster only obviates the S component, so if you have your hands full and the spell has a M component (that doesnt happen to be one of the things you're holding in your hands) it doesnt help you.

Shield (for example) which has V and S components, cant be cast with your hands full, even if one of the things you are holding is a Spell focus (like a shield emblazoned with your holy symbol or a staff), because it doesn't have an M component (so you cant sub a hand holding one for the S component). It works fine with Warcaster though.
 

Remove ads

Top