Search results

  1. P

    Am I breaking any rules with this tactic?

    I'm not sure exactly what you're trying to accomplish, but here's basically how it should work: The "good guys" are aware of the "bad guys" on the other side of the door, but not vice versa. Therefore, the good guys will get a surprise round upon opening the door. Haz opens the door and all...
  2. P

    Protection From Evil magic item(s)?

    Makes perfect sense. Thanks! :) Well, there's a whole 'nother question about that, but I don't want to get into it right now. I'll save it for another time. ;)
  3. P

    Protection From Evil magic item(s)?

    How do you know they aren't priced as a continuous first-level spell? (Not so much challenging you as honestly wondering.) The pricing works out perfectly that way, and the effect is word-for-word the same as the spell in question. Also, where did you get your formula for the speed...
  4. P

    New FAQ at Wizards - Behind the Screen with magic item creation

    Your error lies in assuming that the "scroll rule" is a specific rule, rather than a partial (i.e., incomplete) restatement of the general rule. It is not that the general rule "overrides" the specific rule, but that THERE IS NO SPECIFIC RULE requiring the creator to be the one who prepares the...
  5. P

    New FAQ at Wizards - Behind the Screen with magic item creation

    That's not a "third" option; it's the second one he gave you. Your assumption that the scroll rule is a specific exception to the general rules is in error. The evidence points to it being a restatement of the general rule, in the context of an assumed single creator.
  6. P

    Control Winds - Tornado?

    Yes. The spell description (primary source rule).
  7. P

    Switching weapons of the exorcist

    Yeah, I meant anything actually in the RAW. :)
  8. P

    Switching weapons of the exorcist

    Is there some other, obvious way to interpret how the ability functions that I'm just ignoring?
  9. P

    Switching weapons of the exorcist

    I don't think I'm understanding your response. The weapon must have been in the exorcist's possession for the last 24 hours. Holding someone else's weapon for a round would not satisfy that requirement, so how would they be able to activate the power on that person's weapon?
  10. P

    Question about holding a charge

    No. It discharges only if you touch something. Beware of overly literal interpretations that would result in all Touch spells immediately discharging into one's own clothing. :)
  11. P

    Switching weapons of the exorcist

    Am I mistaken, or does this ability (as written) allow an exorcist of the Silver Flame to switch her chosen weapon from, say, a longsword to a dagger and then back again, as long as both weapons have been in her possession for the last 24 hours? In other words, is there anything to prevent the...
  12. P

    Can a Ring of Counterspells negate a Fireball?

    Just because you can say it and everyone will understand what you mean, that doesn't make it a correct description of what's happening. For example: "I'm gonna put my boot in your ass." So, to answer your question (how would I describe...): "The orcs are within the fireball's area of effect."...
  13. P

    Chill Touch

    You need to read the rules more carefully, my friend. On page 141, it says (in the context of touching targets in the same round you cast the spell): "You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll." This...
  14. P

    Chill Touch

    Produce flame is not a Touch spell; it has a range of 0 ft. Therefore, the "hold the charge" rules do not apply.
  15. P

    Mounted attackes of oppertunity and more

    As Artoomis said. Also, Rules of the Game covered this is in "All About Mounts (Part Two)".
  16. P

    Fire Domain (or other elemental domains)

    They are additional. See the text for the Extra Turning feat (PHB, p.94). Most (if not all) divine feats are "powered" by uses of the character's ability to turn undead. So no, you cannot use elemental turning attempts.
  17. P

    Rogues getting Cleric style loving?

    Yeah, that's a good one. I'm stealing it, too. :)
  18. P

    Chill Touch

    The rule is that you can make one touch attack in the same round that you cast a touch spell; you are not actually making the attack "as part of casting the spell" (as that would subject you to attacks of opportunity). PHB, pp.140-141. I can. Full Attack Action. The rules are simple: you get...
  19. P

    DR stacking

    This is extremely lame in the case of DR X/- from two unrelated sources (say, a barbarian's class ability and adamantine armor), but it is the official rule.
  20. P

    Player's Character Sheet

    I have yet to go over another player's character sheet and not find at least one error. Usually when I find multiple errors, at least one is what I would call "glaring." For this reason, when I DM, I keep a close eye on everyone's stats. (It's something of a pain, since PCs level up pretty...
Top