Infiniti2000 said:
You keep using 'explicit'. That word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
You may be right. I mean that it does spell out that the spell operates in a specific manner, and therefore instead of there being an implication (implicit?) operation in a different manner, there is a confirmed one, to indicate this I used the word Explicit. (Now I'll look it up on Dictionary.Com
"Fully and clearly expressed; leaving nothing implied. "
Well, I'll agree that it can't be "fully and clearly" expressed if some people are disagreeing as to the interpretation.
"Readily observable"
I'll use that definition... of course in doing so I'm being arrogant and stating that it's "readily observable" that you're wrong. (I'll hold to my arrogance for a bit and stick by that statement on the outside, but in these parenthesis I acknowledge your point).
Infiniti2000 said:
Let me draw your attention to what I think is the important point. When you touch the target(s), the spell discharges. The rules on 'holding the charge' clarify this. There are no multi-charge 'holding the charge' rules and the spell description is not explicit on how it works except that it's instantaneous. Does the spell description say that you can touch multiple opponents in the round you cast the spell (assume not quickened)? Does any rule say you can touch multiple opponents in a single round besides having a high BAB and taking a full attack action?
Emphasis mine:
Here I'm going to go back to the dictionary:
Discharge:
"To relieve of a burden or of contents; unload.
To unload or empty (contents). "
And disagree with your statement. It clearly (and it is pretty clear this time I think) does not discharge, in that the spell's still active after a touch... It may seem like I'm splitting hairs here, but it's a pertenent part of my point of view, that it does not act like other touch attack spells act, it's not the same, and doesn't use the same mechanic. You're not holding a charge with this spell, instead this spell enchants your hands so that your next X touch attacks will have the specified effect.
Infiniti2000 said:
Most importantly, does anything say that once you touch the first target, the spell doesn't discharge like all other 'hold the charge' spells (i.e. the rules you are quoting all over the place)?
No, it doesn't. However my point that it's not a 'hold the charge' spell invalidates this particular line of arguement, and instead turns this most important point to "does it say anywhere that it DOES "discharge"?
And, of course, a reading of the definition of the word discharge will reveal that it does not.