Search results

  1. Murrdox

    Lazy DMs doing stupid things

    It sounds to me like your DM has bitten off more than he can chew. As players advance in levels, they become more powerful. They can teleport, travel the planes, have a miriad of methods to find out information, and can forge magical items, and even more. The more powers the players have, the...
  2. Murrdox

    Some of my latest miniature work

    I've painted lots of Battletech Minis, these are my first fantasy based ones. However, I've never really done ANY base work. I've been reading up on how to best go about doing it. So far I don't even have any supplies though. I'm pondering going into it, I just need to find a really good...
  3. Murrdox

    Some of my latest miniature work

    I recently got into Fantasy mini painting. I've mostly been sticking to the Reaper line. Some of my earlier work isn't that impressive, but I think it's improving. I'm just starting to experiment with highlighting and shading and such, so I'm still getting the hang of it. Here's a few shots...
  4. Murrdox

    Looking for a [Large] spear wielding mini

    Try This one... http://www.reapermini.com/store/customer/product.php?productid=2140&cat=0&page=1 or this one http://www.reapermini.com/store/customer/product.php?productid=1154&cat=0&page=1
  5. Murrdox

    Max Dex bonus restricts Dex to attack rolls.

    Well, ya know my biting sarcasm just doesn't translate into text that well. ;) ANYWAYS, I can't remember my exact Ranger build, I'll try and reconstruct it. I do know that I didn't have a Mithril Shirt.... I think I had +2 studded leather or something like that. I'll post a stat block later...
  6. Murrdox

    Max Dex bonus restricts Dex to attack rolls.

    Nah, I wasn't hostile or anything. It came during a fight with some creature that had a lot of HP and a relatively high AC... I think it was a demon. Everyone in the party needed something like an 11 or 12 to hit it, and I needed something crazy like an 18. The wizard in the party then...
  7. Murrdox

    Max Dex bonus restricts Dex to attack rolls.

    Stupidest House-Rule ever, besides removing the 5' step. Sorry, I have a bit of hostility towards this one, because I was forced to PLAY under it by my friend who started DMing (usually I'm the DM) and he sprung it on us about 3 sessions into the adventure. The rule lasted 2 sessions before he...
  8. Murrdox

    Can you drop a wall of force on someone?

    Whatever. I let my players do this. Just cast "Wall of Force", do a bit of folding, and then with some "Gust of Wind" spells you've got yourself an instant glider. Totally within the scope of the rules. And by totally I mean "kinda".
  9. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    Because it doesn't make sense. Why would Chill Touch specify that a Wizard gets 1 touch per level, when not even the most POWERFUL of wizards would possibly be able to use all of the touches? A level 20 wizard gets 20 touches, but could only possibly dream of perhaps using 5 or 6 of them at...
  10. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    "Chill Touch" mechanically works exactly the same as "Shocking Grasp" in terms of how the spell is phrased. The only difference is that Chill Touch has the added mechanic of: "You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level." This mechanic breaks a lot of rules, and not enough...
  11. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    Chill Touch text specifies "Each touch channels negative energy that deals 1d6 points of damage". "Each Touch" does not discriminate between intentional OR unintentional touches. You must merely touch. Rules for accidental discharge are thus already included in the spell. If you say that...
  12. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    Basically any living thing that you touch takes 1d6 negative energy damage. If that doesn't allow for accidental discharge, I don't know what does.
  13. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    If you want to have Chill Touch active for years then that is perfectly fine. The tradeoff is that you can never touch any living thing without discharging the spell, and that your hands are constantly glowing. Only a hermit with no familiar would be able to use Chill Touch in such a way...
  14. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    What ARandomGod said. Nowhere in Chill Touch's spell description does it say that you have to "Hold the Charge" in order to use it to make additional attacks. The spell description itself specifically says that you can make 1 chill touch attack per caster level. Holding the Charge has nothing...
  15. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    It seems very obvious to me that "Chill Touch" has a modified "Hold the Charge" mechanic built into the spell. Its effects are clearly spelled out in the spell description. BECAUSE the effect is clearly spelled out in the spell description, that description trumps the "Holding the Charge"...
  16. Murrdox

    Ranged Sneak Attacks

    Actually it seemed to me that the argument being made was pointing in the direction that if B is "flanked" ie, flanked by anyone, then everyone around him, ally or not, attacking or not, can treat him with a "flanked" status. Which is why I'm asking Patryn to explain who, if anyone, is flanking...
  17. Murrdox

    Ranged Sneak Attacks

    Nope, no messing, that's how it was meant to come out. so... with Q Z A-B-C X Explain to me how X gets a sneak attack with a crossbow, since... Since even if you want to consider "B" flanked by A and C, X certainly isn't doing any of the flanking. In addition to that, where is this...
  18. Murrdox

    Ranged Sneak Attacks

    Just so I get this correct Patryn... You think that if you have setup A-B-C if B is flanked by A and C, then we can do this... Q X A-B-C Z Q, X, and Z all flank B as well? So if these are all rogues, no matter what kind of attack they make, it is a sneak attack?
  19. Murrdox

    Ranged Sneak Attacks

    Okay I see where you are going with it now. However let's take the two clauses of the rules... and Part 1 defines the rule. Part 2 attempts to further clarify Part 1, with the words "when in doubt". You are interpreting that an opponent is flanked if 1 OR 2 = true. You cannot look at...
  20. Murrdox

    Chill Touch

    What Camarath said, except chill touch doesn't specify that you must touch all the targets in the same round. With Chill Touch, you are not "Holding the Charge". Those rules don't apply. The spell allows for multiple attacks depending on your level. Thus, there is no rule stating that you...
Top