Camarath
Pale Master Tarrasque
This sentence is dealing with whether or not one needs to make an attack roll to touch a friend or one's self. The "one" limits the number of friends one can touch with one touch attempt not the number of touch attempts one may make as part of a spell.Peter Gibbons said:On page 141, it says (in the context of touching targets in the same round you cast the spell): "You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll." This clearly limits the number of touches you get to make in the same round that you cast the spell to ONE.
Consistent with all of the known rules?Peter Gibbons said:Look, it's really quite simple: there's one interpretation that is consistent with all of the known rules, and it's not the one you're making.
PHB Page 175 "You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell."
Please address these two rule quotes and explain how they square with your assertion that you may only touch one target when casting a spell.Peter Gibbons said:You need to read the rules more carefully, my friend.
PHB p175 "You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell."
PHB p176 "Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can’t hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.".
Last edited: