(3.0) aid another does it stack?

Most circumstance bonuses stack with each other.

Anyway, I seem to recall there is something in DMG about that the DM should adjudicate a reasonable limit to "aid another", I am not sure if it was only for skills or also attacks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the SRD Skill Section:

Helping the Leader: Sometimes the individual PCs are essentially reacting to the same situation, but they can work together and help each other out. In this case, one character is considered the leader of the effort and makes a skill check while each helper makes a skill check against DC 10. (the character can't take 10 on this check.) For each helper who succeeds, the leader gets a +2 circumstance bonus (as per the rule for favorable conditions). In many cases, a character's help won't be beneficial, or only a limited number of characters can help at once. The DM limits cooperation as she sees fit for the given conditions.

From the SRD Combat Actions:

Aid another [Standard][AoO: No]
Description: If a character threatens an opponent with whom an ally is engaged in melee combat, the character can attempt to aid the ally as a standard action. The character makes an attack roll against AC 10. If the character succeeds, the character's ally gains either a +2 circumstance bonus to attack that opponent or a +2 circumstance bonus to AC against that opponent (the character's choice).


Seeing how the mechanics work along similar lines, I never doubted that several characters 'aiding' a dedicated attacker (leader) wouldn't help. IMC it stacks and sometimes it's the only way to get rid of one of those monsters/NPCs with insane AC, an act of desperation so to say. :)

~Marimmar
 

Not so dumb question

I was shure it was a dumb question, but your input showed me otherwise.
If i uderstood it correctly
3.5 says it does stack. +4,+4
SRD (3.0) says: Skill = attack, Skill stack so does attack
so if 3.5 is a revision not a new edition it should stack.
poor players if they go aggainst goblins and orcs
 

Re: Re: Think it stacks

Artoomis said:


No, it must be two people. Otherwise, it's the same circumstance bonus - besides, it uses up an action anyway, so, except in unusual circumstanes, you could only do this once in a round. It's not an "attack," it's a standard action.

Didn't read close enough. I thought that it was an attack option. See now that it isn't.
Looking at it that way I like it even less. I always used it for that last attack that wasn't going to hit anything. Hmm... There still are uses but not many.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top