3.0 Question: Classed Undead and consitution?

TheEvil

Explorer
A good many intelligent undead advance by class, and some retain their previous class when they are created. Since undead lose their constitution score, do they also lose any constitution related class abilities? Would a barbarian vampire lose his rage, for example?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think when you don't have the correct stat anymore such as a barbarian vampire you use charisma stat instead. I think that is how those things work so he would not gain the +4 to con but the length would be based on his charisma.

later
 

No, an undead barbarian keeps his rage. He can rage for 3 + Charisma modifier rounds (I think it was in 3.0 according to the old FAQ). When he's done raging he suffers no ill effects, as undead are immune to fatigue.
 

Thanks for the prompt replies

Henrix said:
No, an undead barbarian keeps his rage. He can rage for 3 + Charisma modifier rounds (I think it was in 3.0 according to the old FAQ). When he's done raging he suffers no ill effects, as undead are immune to fatigue.

I don't suppose the barbarian vampire gets his rage con boost to charisma for durations purposes? :heh:
 

From 3.0e main FAQ


If a barbarian became undead (by gaining the vampire template, for example), how would you determine how long his rage lasts? He no longer has a Constitution score. Could an undead barbarian theoretically rage until all opponents were defeated or someone takes him down? Or does his rage simply last 3 rounds (base 3 + 0 for no Constitution score)? Or do you assume that the undead barbarian has a Constitution score of 4 (0 + 4 bonus from rage) and so cannot rage at all, since the modifier for an ability score of 4 is −3? Does this Constitution “boost” have any other effects on the undead barbarian? Does he actually lose hit points?

An undead creature uses its Charisma modifier wherever its Constitution modifier would normally apply (except Fortitude saving throws, for which the creature must use its +0 Constitut ion modifier if it needs to make a Fortitude save at all). Thus, the example barbarian rages for a number of rounds equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier (but always for at least 1 round). An undead creature has no Constitution score at all and cannot gain one by receiving a bonus. Therefore, the +4 Constitution bonus from rage has no effect on this barbarian.
 


Remove ads

Top