Usumcasane
First Post
In the exception based system of 4E, if versatile allowed you to treat a weapon as though it were a two-handed weapon, it would say so. As it is, it says you can use two hands to wield it and get a +1 to damage. That's it. Beyond that, the base rules apply. So since a longsword is not in the two-handed weapon category, the extra damage Power Attack affords that weapon category does not apply to it, even if you are using it two-handed.
And yes, this means Halflings and Goblins do NOT get the same benefit from Power Attack, nor do they have the full range of options as Fighters. That is a downside to being a small race.
And yes, this means Halflings and Goblins do NOT get the same benefit from Power Attack, nor do they have the full range of options as Fighters. That is a downside to being a small race.