5 ft. step with surprise standard action?

zoroaster100

First Post
This question just came up in my game. Perhaps I suffered from temporary blindness, but I couldn't find a clear answer in the Player's Handbook or DMG section on surprise. If someone is taking a standard action during the "surprise round" because their opponent was caught unaware of them, does the person taking the standard action during the surprise round get to also take a 5 ft. step? Please share with me the answer to this question and the place where the rule or clarification on this can be found.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes. From the definition in the SRD:

Take 5-Foot Step
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement.

Did the person make no other movement in the surprise round? Then they meet all the criteria for a 5-ft step.
 
Last edited:

It's not really clearly stated in 3.5, like it was in 3E.

But you can.

Restricted Activity: In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round’s worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free actions as normal). You can’t take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).

Now, a 5' step isn't a free action - it's in fact listed as 'no action'. But since you can take free actions as normal in a round of restricted activity (like the surprise round), it seems reasonable that a 'no action' can also be taken.

As the PHB notes:
Not an Action: Some activities are so minor that they are not even considered free actions. They literally don’t take any time at all to do and are considered an inherent part of doing something else.

5' step falls under this category - not even a free action.

-Hyp.
 

The DMG says "In this [surprise] round, each character gets only a standard action" (page 23, emphasis mine).

I interpret that to limit the action in this round to 1 standard action and nothing else, not even a 5' step.
 
Last edited:

dcollins said:
Did the person make no other movement in the surprise round? Then they meet all the criteria for a 5-ft step.

It could be argued that the rules for restricted activity (only a standard or move action, plus free actions) overrule this, since the 5' step is neither a standard, nor move, nor free action.

(Edit - see? Vigwyn just argued that. I told you it could be done :) )

So the question's a reasonable one :)

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Well, you can take a 5' step in the middle of a standard action, so I would allow it. IMC, you can cast a touch spell (like for example Vampiric touch) then step 5' and use it on an enemy.

In my opinion, a 5' step isn't an action, so you can do it once a round, any time, any round.

-Tatsu
 

Tatsukun said:
IMC, you can cast a touch spell (like for example Vampiric touch) then step 5' and use it on an enemy.

In the Core Rules, you can cast a touch spell, then move 30' and use it on an enemy...

-Hyp.
 

Vigwyn the Unruly said:
The DMG says "In this [surprise] round, each character gets only a standard action" (page 23, emphasis mine).

I interpret that to limit the action in this round to 1 standard action and nothing else, not even a 5' step.
The Primary rule source disagrees with the Secondary source you quoted.

From PHB 3.5 (quoted from SRD)

"The Surprise Round: If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. Any combatants aware of the opponents can act in the surprise round, so they roll for initiative. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs."

From DMG 3.5 Errata

"Errata Rule: Primary Sources
When you find a disagreement between two D&D rules
sources, unless an official errata file says otherwise, the
primary source is correct. One example of a
primary/secondary source is text taking precedence over a
table entry. An individual spell description takes precedence
when the short description in the beginning of the spells
chapter disagrees.
Another example of primary vs. secondary sources involves
book and topic precedence. The Player’s Handbook, for
example, gives all the rules for playing the game, for PC
races, and the base class descriptions. If you find something
on one of those topics from the Dungeon Master’s Guide or
the Monster Manual that disagrees with the Player’s
Handbook, you should assume the Player’s Handbook is the
primary source.
The Dungeon Master’s Guide is the primary
source for topics such as magic item descriptions, special
material construction rules, and so on. The Monster Manual
is the primary source for monster descriptions, templates, and
supernatural, extraordinary, and spell-like abilities."
 
Last edited:

Camarath said:
The Primary rule source disagrees with the Secondary source you quoted.

From PHB 3.5 (quoted from SRD)

"The Surprise Round: If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. Any combatants aware of the opponents can act in the surprise round, so they roll for initiative. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard action during the surprise round. You can also take free actions during the surprise round. If no one or everyone is surprised, no surprise round occurs."

No, it doesn't. The above quote says you can take free actions, and the 5' step is not a free action.



Camarath said:
From DMG 3.5 Errata

"Errata Rule: Primary Sources
When you find a disagreement between two D&D rules
sources, unless an official errata file says otherwise, the
primary source is correct.

The following is from the 3.5 PHB (quoted from SRD):

"In some situations (such as in a surprise round), you may be limited to taking only a single move action or standard action." [emphasis added]

Vigwyn

As far as I'm concerned, the question is not directly addressed by the rules, so it's up to each DM to adjudicate. I'm just pointing out that your argument against my interpretation is invalid. ;)
 
Last edited:

I like the emphasis game, let me try:

The following is from the 3.5 PHB (quoted from SRD):

"In some situations (such as in a surprise round), you may be limited to taking only a single move action or standard action." [emphasis added]

To me, that means, you may be limited to taking a move action OR a standard, but it isn't a hard rule that you definately ARE limited to it.

Are you suggesting you can't speak (free action) during a surprise round? You can't "breathe" (not an action) during a surprise round?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top