A question about reach


log in or register to remove this ad

questionmark said:
Can a character with a longspear attack an enemy that is next to them?

Assuming a character larger than Tiny: No. A longspear is a "donut" reach weapon. You threaten 10 feet, but not 5 feet (for a Small or Medium character).

-Hyp.
 

Characters with bite attacks or other non-hand natural attacks, monks and perhaps other characters with Improved Unarmed Strike, and characters with Monkey Grip using a Longspear and a non-reach weapon all can make melee attacks wile wielding a Longspear though they can not make them with the Longspear.

I believe there are also some non-core feats and what not that allow characters with reach weapons to attack adjacent characters.

I have in the past as a house rule let players use the Longspear and other similar reach weapons an improvised clubs against creatures inside their normal reach.
 

In most circumstances, a character can take a 5 foot step at no penalty and attack whomever used to be right next to them with the longspear, including a full attack action. The “donut reach” idea is funny. :-) But I think it is important to remember that what that means is that it is a weapon that requires liberal shifting around to use.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top