A Stupid question about Bastard Swords.

Egres

First Post
I was debating with a friend of mine about this stupid problem.

OK:if i have the EWP:Bastard Sword, can i use a BS designed for a Large creature with two hands with a -2 penalty?

Thank you in advance. :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Egres said:
I was debating with a friend of mine about this stupid problem.

OK:if i have the EWP:Bastard Sword, can i use a BS designed for a Large creature with two hands with a -2 penalty?

Thank you in advance. :)
Yes. You read the rules right on. I have a small character in my story hour who does this, but with a medium bastard sword.
 

Based on the bastard sword in the PHB, that ruling makes the most sense.

The author of the FAQ seems to have a completely different idea on the subject (A bastard sword is listed as a one-handed weapon, but it's really a two-handed weapon, you see. Just ignore those pesky tables.), but you're better off going with what's in the book, I think.

A 3.5 Large Bastard Sword is effectively the 'Fullblade' from 1st printing Sword and Fist, or Arms and Equipment Guide, from 3E.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top