Tessarael
Adventurer
Reading through A5E, 5E, and D&D 2024 carefully, I noticed the following difference between A5E vs. 5E and D&D 2024:
In A5E, "Any equipment you are wearing or wielding merges into your new form. Equipment that merges with your form has no effect until you leave the form."
5E and D&D 2024 both have, "You choose whether your equipment falls in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the OM decides whether it's practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment based on the creature's size and shape. Your equipment doesn't change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form can't wear must either fall to the ground or merge with the form. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect while you're in that form."
This is a significant difference. It means that if my A5E Druid wild shapes into say Ape or Vegepygmy form, they cannot just keep wielding say their club and shield. Instead if they want to keep using them, they need to: drop the items (action to doff a shield), wild shape (bonus action as a Druid with the Skinchanger archetype), pick them up, then wield them (action to don a shield). This takes at least 2 rounds in A5E, so generally will not be practical in battle. In 5E and D&D 2024, it is just the bonus action to change shape, so quite viable in battle.
I assume that this A5E change was intentional for simplicity and to limit potential abuse of equipped items while in wild shape. It makes magic items and other equipment less useful for a wild shaped Druid. I expect that some A5E DMs would house rule it to use the 5E / D&D 2024 rules.
Thoughts? How do you handle this in your A5E campaign for wild shaping Druids? Any issues either way in practice during play?
In A5E, "Any equipment you are wearing or wielding merges into your new form. Equipment that merges with your form has no effect until you leave the form."
5E and D&D 2024 both have, "You choose whether your equipment falls in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal, but the OM decides whether it's practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment based on the creature's size and shape. Your equipment doesn't change size or shape to match the new form, and any equipment that the new form can't wear must either fall to the ground or merge with the form. Equipment that merges with the form has no effect while you're in that form."
This is a significant difference. It means that if my A5E Druid wild shapes into say Ape or Vegepygmy form, they cannot just keep wielding say their club and shield. Instead if they want to keep using them, they need to: drop the items (action to doff a shield), wild shape (bonus action as a Druid with the Skinchanger archetype), pick them up, then wield them (action to don a shield). This takes at least 2 rounds in A5E, so generally will not be practical in battle. In 5E and D&D 2024, it is just the bonus action to change shape, so quite viable in battle.
I assume that this A5E change was intentional for simplicity and to limit potential abuse of equipped items while in wild shape. It makes magic items and other equipment less useful for a wild shaped Druid. I expect that some A5E DMs would house rule it to use the 5E / D&D 2024 rules.
Thoughts? How do you handle this in your A5E campaign for wild shaping Druids? Any issues either way in practice during play?