Aberrate + Alter Self

cincinnati reds

First Post
I'm building a 4th level Wizard for a game I'll be joining this weekend; while blowing through all my character wealth on spells for my book, I came across the Aberrate spell from BoVD. Basically, it's a first level Transmutation spell that gives you a +1 to AC and ... well, I don't entirely remember, but it does change the target's type to Aberration.

So, while under the effect of this spell, could my PC then cast Alter Self to shift into a Gibbering Mouther? Is that RAW legal?

Thanks,

CR
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Looks legal from what you've posted - assuming a Gibbering Mouther is within your particular hit dice limit.

Whether or not the spell from BoVD is a good idea is another matter entirely.
 

Alter self
You assume the form of a creature of the same type as your normal form. The new form must be within one size category of your normal size. The maximum HD of an assumed form is equal to your caster level, to a maximum of 5 HD at 5th level. You can change into a member of your own kind or even into yourself.
This can be discuted, your normal form is the form you take with a spell or the form you are born into?
 

I would say that your "normal form" for the duration of the Abberate spell is Aberration, because it is the only form type you possess under while under the spell's effect. You couldn't cast Alter Self to become an elf, for instance, while under the Aberrate spell because you're no longer a Humanoid Creature.

I don't want to sound too Rules-Lawyer-y when I try this at the table, though. I haven't played D&D in a while and don't want to spend my first session back arguing semantics at the table.

That's why I came here. :)
 

I agree it looks legal. But, if you think the people in your group might raise an eyebrow, it would'nt be a bad idea to present it to the DM first. This would be good if for no other reason to forestall arguments during the session whereby the DM could say, "He already showed it to me, I checked it out, looks legit, and it's not game-breaking." Or, he could rule conversely, but then at least it wouldn't slow up the game. I'm guessing that since the DM is allowing you to use a DM's only book (the BoVD), he'll allow it.
 
Last edited:

cincinnati reds said:
Basically, it's a first level Transmutation spell that gives you a +1 to AC and ... well, I don't entirely remember, but it does change the target's type to Aberration.
"The caster must be an outsider from the lower planes to cast this spell." (Components: V, S, Fiend.)

cincinnati reds said:
So, while under the effect of this spell, could my PC then cast Alter Self to shift into a Gibbering Mouther? Is that RAW legal?
Yes. But see above. (If you really want to alter self into abberations, play an elan from the Expanded Psionics Handbook.)
 

Iku Rex said:
"The caster must be an outsider from the lower planes to cast this spell." (Components: V, S, Fiend.)

Oops. :D

Guess I'll be spending that 150gp to scribe that spell into my book elsewhere.

Thanks for catching that for me. Don't know how I missed it.
 


Now, if you were a tiefling....

edit:[/] ... you still cannot cast the spell, since the fiend component stipulates that yuu must be an evil outsider from the Lower Planes, which rules out tieflings.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top