BoldItalic
First Post
I am going into a dangerous area. Guidance on me to help me with something that might come up - none of us know what. Can I roll the guidance die when I cast it, or not? That's the question.
Yes, that's the right question. I would rule "no" - wait until you have an ability roll to add 1d4 to.
Just as you wait until you make a specific attack to made an attack roll, or wait until there is something specific to save against to made a saving throw roll, so you wait until there is a specific ability check to seek Guidance on, to make the Guidance roll.
You have the reassurance that, if sometime in the next minute you have to make an ability roll and it looks marginal, you will be able to add a few points hoping to tip the balance. You won't know exactly how many points until you attempt the action and roll the die, but you know it will be in the 1-4 range. If you are confident that the outcome of one ability roll is clear-cut, you have the option of not rolling the d4 this time and saving it in case you have to make another ability roll later that same minute.
That's the way I read the spell description.