Actions After Making Saves

Spatula

Explorer
Quick rules question, as I don't have access to my books right now:

When a player decides to roll saving throws for (save ends) conditions at the end of their turn, can they perform any actions afterwards? (while still within their turn) For example, spending an action point and using the extra standard action?

This came up in game where a player made a save and the end of his turn, failed it, and then wanted to spend an action point to continue his turn (his paragon path gave him a free save when spending an AP). I said that once he decided to make his saves, his turn was over and he couldn't use the AP. But I'm not sure if that's correct by the rules.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

By RAW, you ruled correctly. Saves happen at the end of the turn (except the special ones, yadda yadda), therefor if you're rolling a save, your turn has ended.
 

I think you were right. You can't take any actions at the end of your turn, which is where the saving throw happens. And spending an action point is actually an action (PHB 269)
 

This came up in game where a player made a save and the end of his turn, failed it, and then wanted to spend an action point to continue his turn (his paragon path gave him a free save when spending an AP). I said that once he decided to make his saves, his turn was over and he couldn't use the AP. But I'm not sure if that's correct by the rules.

It was a feat, actually. Action Recovery.
 

You ruled correctly. Once your "end of turn" starts, only "end of turn" things can happen (e.g. saving throws), although you can choose the order that they occur in.
 

One thing about Action Points... people always seem to save them as insurance... if you miss or whatever. However, if you use them at the beginning of your turn, you get whatever 11th level bonus is granted for more actions.

Commiting to use of the Action Point is rewarded.

In this case, if the player really wanted to shake the effect, they should have (could have) spent it earlier.
 

One thing about Action Points... people always seem to save them as insurance... if you miss or whatever. However, if you use them at the beginning of your turn, you get whatever 11th level bonus is granted for more actions.

Y'know, I never really thought about using an action point at the beginning of a turn rather than the end. But if I can do that, then maybe I won't retrain away Action Recovery since it doesn't do quite what I wanted.
 

Sure, you can use an AP at any time during the turn. Its even possible to spend the free action to get the AP, do other actions, and then spend the action granted by the AP (though the cases where you would want to do that are seriously corner cases involving charging and AP PP benefits).
 

By the time you hit 11th level and/or have certain items (Veteran's Armor comes to mind) and/or certain feats (Action Surge), you almost always want to use the AP first.
 

I like spending an action point at the beginning of a round when I am with warlords... some of the boosts they do when you spend an action point last until the end of your next turn (e.g. insightful presence gives you a bonus to defenses).
 

Remove ads

Top