Advice for recording an actual play podcast?

firesnakearies

Explorer
I'd really like to audio record the sessions of my upcoming campaign and make them an actual play podcast. I have no experience with this, however, and no recording "stuff".

I'll be running these games in my home, and have a desktop PC at the table.

Any advice for what kind of microphone or software would be good for this, as well as setup/placement tips and the like?

I'd also like to get into this as inexpensively as possible, for now. So the cheapest hardware that'll do the job would be ideal.

Thanks!

Kafen

First Post
I would try one of these USB Mic if you can find one at a music store. It works for picking up on audio at family gatherings for myself without spikes in audio and bursts of static. The range is wide enough that you can get the full range of most words and voices into the raw file.

Otherwise, I would pick up a boom mic stand and a boom mic with something like this from your local music store.

I would sit down and first look at what hardware you have on hand. You would need to get the full tech specs of the input and output of the card you are processing the audio with on your PC. It is going to be your limiting factor in what hardware you settle on. If you have a system that has "ok" audio, you could make do with something as simple as the mic in the second link.

Dynamic range compression - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia This link goes into what any band member knows. It will help you decide how much you want to invest in hardware and what items you want to include if you plan on spending anything over a hundred bucks on it.

TIP: If you have any aging friends that have 'garage band' stuff laying around, you could pick up a compressor for pennies on the dollar if the spouse is fed up enough with it.

P

PaulofCthulhu

If you're doing it with virtually no money and the cheapest possible way, then...