AEG: Fierce Property

EPRock

Slaughter McSlaughter
Fierce: If its weilder is willing to forgo the opportunity to evade foes, a fierce weapon can land tremendous blows. It allows the weilder to transfer some or all of his Dexterity bonus to damage rolls (reducing his Armor Class by the same amount). As a free action, the weilder chooses how to allocate his Dexterity bonus at the start of his turn, and the effect lasts until his next turn.

I have a Character with a 26 Dex (+8 mod), and wearing a mithril breastplate which allows a max dex bonus of 5, so there are 3 dex points not being used.

Can I use the 3 points as free damage?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


EPRock said:
I have a Character with a 26 Dex (+8 mod), and wearing a mithril breastplate which allows a max dex bonus of 5, so there are 3 dex points not being used.

Can I use the 3 points as free damage?
No, because it says "As a free action, the weilder chooses how to allocate his Dexterity bonus at the start of his turn, and the effect lasts until his next turn. " Well, your Dexterity bonus is limited by your armor. That's why it's called Max Dex Bonus. Your Dexterity while wearing that armor is +5.
 

EPRock said:
Can I use the 3 points as free damage?

It explicitly states that any Dex bonus you transfer lowers your AC. So it looks like the 3 points you transfer are from the 5 that do count towards AC, not from the 3 that don't :)

-Hyp.
 

I have a Character with a 26 Dex (+8 mod), and wearing a mithril breastplate which allows a max dex bonus of 5, so there are 3 dex points not being used.

Can I use the 3 points as free damage?

Hey!! I know who you are asking for and I already answered that question. :p
 



Crothian said:
Ya, and your AC would also ghet lowered by 8

Er, no, you can't.

That ruling is at cross-purposes with the earlier ruling.

Either:

1) He has 8 points of Dex bonus available, and can transfer any and all of them from bonus to AC to bonus to damage, and the first 3 are free because the armor doesn't let him use more than 5, or

2) The armor only lets him use 5, so he only has 5 points of Dex bonus to AC available and can transfer any and all of them from bonus to AC to bonus to damage

You cannot rule that he only has 5 available but can transfer 8.
 

Remove ads

Top