Anti-magic field questions

NewJeffCT

First Post
If an abjuration master specialist casts an Anti-Magic Field on the party fighter, what is the extent of the AMF protection?

For example, evil bad guy does a Telekinetic Violent Thrust maneuver against the fighter in the anti-magic field and picks up a huge stone 60 feet away to toss at the fighter... does the T/K'd stone just stop when it reaches 10 feet of the fighter? Or, does the stone still penetrate the AMF because it's a natural object and the actual thrust occurred outside the AMF?

I know a conjured/summoned creature could not penetrate the AMF, but a golem could.

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Given that the "violent thrust" option for the telekinesis spell makes the duration become instantaneous, and that the BBEG is using it on an object that is initially outside the antimagic field, I'd rule that he can hurl a boulder at the fighter without penalty.

In other words, yes; the rock is a natural object, and the (instantaneous) thrust occurred outside the AMF, so that tactic works.
 

Given that the "violent thrust" option for the telekinesis spell makes the duration become instantaneous, and that the BBEG is using it on an object that is initially outside the antimagic field, I'd rule that he can hurl a boulder at the fighter without penalty.

In other words, yes; the rock is a natural object, and the (instantaneous) thrust occurred outside the AMF, so that tactic works.

Thanks, that was helpful.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top