AOO against opponents with natural reach

Hypersmurf said:
But you only draw an AoO for taking certain actions in a threatened area. You're not in a threatened area, so you don't provoke an AoO.

The result of a failed Trip/Disarm is not covered by that clause, so it's a different story.

But you can't provoke an AoO unless you're in a threatened area.

-Hyp.

I dissagre.

If they ment for thoughs actions to not draw AoO from Reach they would have said so in the action.

This is like the Wildshape (refer to Polymorph, refer to Alter Self) gray area.

Drawing on info from a chain that is two/three steps away.

WotC has shown very clerily that they dont think about these kinds of things when writing linked rules.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

melkoriii said:
If they ment for thoughs actions to not draw AoO from Reach they would have said so in the action.

Huh? Assuming you have 5' reach...

If I stand next to you and drink a potion, I provoke an AoO. I am taking a "certain action" within a threatened area.

If I stand ten feet away and drink a potion, I do not provoke an AoO. I am not within a threatened area while I take a "certain action".

If I stand next to you and attempt a disarm, I provoke an AoO. I am taking a "certain action" within a threatened area.

If I stand ten feet away and attempt a disarm, I do not provoke an AoO. I am not within a threatened area while I take a "certain action".

What's the difference?

-Hyp.
 

All Im getting at is that in the discrition of reach weapons that gets a bonus to Disarm, they say nothing about skipping the AoO that is drawn when you try and disarm.
 

melkoriii said:
All Im getting at is that in the discrition of reach weapons that gets a bonus to Disarm, they say nothing about skipping the AoO that is drawn when you try and disarm.

Why would they need to?

You only provoke an AoO if you're in a threatened area.

If you use a ranseur to disarm an ogre, you provoke an AoO. You're taking an "AoO: Yes" action in a threatened area, since he has 10' reach.

If you use a ranseur to disarm a goblin with 5' reach, you don't. You're taking an "AoO: Yes" action, but you're not in a threatened area, so no AoO is provoked.

-Hyp.
 

melkoriii said:
All Im getting at is that in the discrition of reach weapons that gets a bonus to Disarm, they say nothing about skipping the AoO that is drawn when you try and disarm.
They don't have to.

If you are not in the threatened range of an enemy they can't take an AoO against you. It's not different than if a character were beating up a rabbit (or any other creature who does not threaten).

Reach weapons are no inherent guaranty of immunity to Attacks of Opportunity - the enemy could have reach themselves, or just be close in the first place (such as with a spiked chain attack).

There's nothing special about Disarm Attacks with Reach Weapons that make them subject to different rules than shooting people with bows.

-Frank
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top